Why does Seasonic do this?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by RedWagnum, Oct 19, 2017.

  1. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Why does Seasonic (and other manufacturers) put capacitors or chokes on the ATX, PCIe, and CPU cables? Do the capacitors actually do anything noticeable? I'm just completing my new build in a Thermaltake Core X2 case with a Seasonic Prime 650 Platinum PSU and it has the capacitors on the cables ruining what would otherwise be perfectly functional flat flex force cables. Because the PSU sits about 2" below the motherboard in this case the main cables need to be bent 180° to feed down to the PSU. With these capacitors in the end of the cables it is very difficult to do this, especially with the 8pin CPU cable.

    Does anyone know of any replacement cables that are compatible with this PSU without the caps, IOW just plain flex force cables? I looked at Cablemods but I am not a fan of the "spaghetti" style cables and the cost for just the three main cables in custom length is more than half what I paid for the PSU.
     
  2. 86 5.0L

    86 5.0L [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,773
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
  3. 86 5.0L

    86 5.0L [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,773
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
  4. Sith'ari

    Sith'ari Gawd

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Exactly that. More ripple filtering.
    All major companies (Corsair, EVGA, Superflower etc ) do the same in order to achieve the very low ripple values the we read at the recent PSU reviews.
    So, far, the only platform that can achieve similarily low ripple values without the use of in-cable-caps, is the platform that Seasonic uses for their PRIME TITANIUM line of PSUs.
     
  5. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    FACK! Should have done a little more research. The 650 Titanium was only about $20 more than the 650 Platinum. If I had realized the difference in the cables I would have gone with the Titanium. Looks like the Titanium still has the cap on the 24pin ATX cable though. Oh well, life goes on...
     
  6. Seasonic Rep

    Seasonic Rep Official Seasonic Representative

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Hello RedWagnum,

    Like all the others replies said, FOCUS Plus but also PRIME Platinum and Gold (but also PRIME 1000 Titanium) got inline capacitors in cables in order to keep ripple to the lower value possible.
    For all the others PRIME Titanium in 650, 750 and 850W, they don't have inline capacitors. You can refer to the review made by HardOCP for example.

    Thank you.
    Best Regards,
     
  7. Private_Ops

    Private_Ops [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,824
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Wow... a Rep that actually replys unwarrented AND links a HardOCP article? Nice.
     
    rgMekanic and Seasonic Rep like this.
  8. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Yep. The [H]orde is a great bunch of peeps including several factory representatives. Don't see that at many sites!
     
  9. Seasonic Rep

    Seasonic Rep Official Seasonic Representative

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Hi All,

    Just to add something, we have the new PRIME Ultra coming and guess what? No inline capacitors on these power supplies. They will replace actual PRIME.

    Thanks.
    Best Regards,
     
    DTN107, blkt and SeymourGore like this.
  10. QuintLeo

    QuintLeo n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    WIll the Ultra move back to a relable ball bearing fan like the X-series or is it still using that fancy-name DIES TOO FAST junk sleeve bearing fan the Prime moved to?
     
  11. Seasonic Rep

    Seasonic Rep Official Seasonic Representative

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Hello QuintLeo,

    Thank you for your valuable comment about our PRIME Ultra Series.
    PRIME Ultra will come with a FDB fan from the same manufacturer (Hong Hua). If you have any comment about it, please let us know.

    Thank you.
    Best Regards,
     
  12. captiv789

    captiv789 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    When I had to replace my cables I called Seasonic and they told me to order from their cable vendor BTOS Integration Inc. Ugh I wish they just sold their cables on their own site. Would've saved me the trouble of having to call them. But it was really easy to order from this site. So i guess it's fine. Cables are working great now!
     
  13. Seasonic Rep

    Seasonic Rep Official Seasonic Representative

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Hello Captiv789,

    Thank you for your message.
    We are sorry for where to find our cables in North America. We would like to take care of this directly but right now, it's not possible with our website (but we are working on a solution) so we rely on our partner BTOS which is doing a great job so far for us. Just in case people want to know where to get some:

    BTOS Integration, Inc.
    332 Paseo Tesoro
    Walnut, CA 91789
    http://www.btosinte.com

    Thank you.
    Best Regards,
     
  14. banedox

    banedox [H]Lite

    Messages:
    110
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    well its because its the type of PSU i think usually the cheaper PSU have them because they are moved from the case making it smaller to the cables.
     
  15. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,791
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Make your own cables. that way you also get perfect lenght without having to tuck anything away
     
  16. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Gawd

    Messages:
    583
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    I did that before, about 15+ years ago, specifically for SATA and 4 pin Molex power cables. Still have the tools and materials to do that. Problem is that what I need now is shorter 24 pin ATX, 8 pin CPU, and 8 + 6 pin GPU cables without the capacitors and I'm too old and lazy to do it. :) I'd have to spend too much time having to source the Flex-Force wire. And just the thought of having to crimp nearly 100 connectors makes my hands hurt.

    I hate getting old... :(
     
  17. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,791
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Yeah it sucks
     
  18. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,151
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Looks like BTOS forgot to pay the bill. Getting a GoDaddy page at that link

    BTW, are the cables with and without the capacitors keyed differently? I have several generations of Seasonic modular supplies and the spare cables might end up in the same drawer.
     
  19. Seasonic Rep

    Seasonic Rep Official Seasonic Representative

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Hello,

    They are currently close for 2-3 weeks due to personal reason so in order to avoid to have too many back order, website has been shutdown. They will come back online asap. So for some cables compatible with your Seasonic, you can still check Cablemod.com for example.

    Thank you.
    Best Regards,
     
  20. NIVO

    NIVO [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,254
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    this is why Seasonic is still the best in the biz IMO.
     
    rgMekanic likes this.
  21. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,151
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Youch! The full kits cost almost as much as a new PS. Looks like good stuff but not exactly the right price range for straight up replacement. I'm not needing any myself right now so no worries

    Also, are the cables with and without the capacitors keyed differently?
     
  22. Seasonic Rep

    Seasonic Rep Official Seasonic Representative

    Messages:
    179
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Hello,

    Yes Cablemod is clearly more high end for cables (sleeved, high quality materials, etc..) so the price is not the same as the cables we provide and could find on BTOS. Unfortunately, these are the only 2 ways for now to get our cables or compatible ones.
    Else, cables with inline capacitors (FOCUS Plus for example) are exactly the same as others cables like for PRIME Ultra. Same cable set but we added a capacitor for the ripple as it's not handle directly inside the PSU. Any question about compatibility between PSU, please contact us anytime.

    Thank you.
    Best Regards,
     
  23. mod1sleever

    mod1sleever n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Hey, I just ran across this thread, and I am the cable sleever at Mod-One. I do a lot of Seasonic cables (short ones no less), without capacitors... of course no custom sleever really does because it would be too difficult/costly and look like garbage (i.e. Cablemod's heat shrink nightmare in the middle of the cables lol). Also, if the form factor is small enough, I actually recommend doing an unsleeved shorty cable from the PSU, to a 24 pin extension... that way the cables look super clean going to the mobo, as short sleeved 24 pin cables can be difficult to keep tame because the wires cross each other and they are stiff when sleeved).At any rate, feel free to message me if you have any questions or would like to see some more of my work... Here is an example of two 30 cm Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 24 pin cables I completed recently.
     

    Attached Files: