Where do I get started? What do I need to know?

mike208

n00b
Cliffs Notes

Newb with decent computer knowledge and some networking knowledge, wants to learn PC/network security, where do i start?

Okay here goes. I am a newb trying to find something to mess around with, and maybe eventually do for a living. I would like to try out something like PC/Network security, and see if I like it. But I have no idea where to start. I soon plan to get my own network setup, but it will likely only consist of 2 maybe 3 computers.

I have seen a lot of posts everywhere saying "teach me how to hack", thats not what I am looking for really. Obviously your not likely to teach me to hack, since its illegal, and I don't really want to do it, since I coudl go to jail and that would suck. I'm sure I will give it a try on my own systems, once I get a network setup, but first I need to learn the basics. I'm not a total turd, I am A+ certified(not that that makes me special or smart or anything)and I know a bit about networking, since I had been studying for Net+ a while back, but decided against paying for another cert that would likely not benefit me without more knowledge. So now I am tryign to figure out how to gain that knowledge.