When / Why to use BOINC with VirtualBox?

fastgeek

[H]ard|DCOTM x4 aka "That Company"
I've never used the BOINC + VB client before. For whatever reason I thought it wasn't needed; but the more accurate explanation is that I didn't understand why that option was there. Just installed BOINC+VB on my home computer (E5-2596v2 w/ 32GB RAM, 1070GTX, etc) to try and help with LHC at little once I learned that anything other than "SixTrack" required it. Not going to lie, it was a real pain in the ass. Kept having the issues in which the VM wasn't engaging. Nuked everything related to BOINC after install and all is well now. That said.

Now I'm wondering... have I been screwing myself over in other projects by not using the VM enabled BOINC option? In the case of the current Pentathlon competition, am I leaving points on the table by not going that route? Inquiring minds want to know! :) Thanks!

(BTW, looks like LHC has decided to do two 8CPU instances of Atlas + a few instances of SixTrack as available.)

You actually managed to get it to work? Which OS?

I kept getting VirtualBox not installed from LHC.

The WUs for the VB apps do produce more points then Sixtrack.

You actually managed to get it to work? Which OS?

I kept getting VirtualBox not installed from LHC.

The WUs for the VB apps do produce more points then Sixtrack.

Not sure if you've already managed to get this working or not.

If not, you could try to uninstall both boinc and vbox completely (including the program data folder boinc leaves behind) and then install the development version BOINC 7.7.2 + VirtualBox 5.1.18. Apparently, some people are experiencing issues with earlier versions of vbox.

This worked for me on windows 10. At least it did after I remembered to enable virtualisation in the bios.

Not sure if you've already managed to get this working or not.