WHEA and Clock Watchdog Timeout errors have .DMP files

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by MeatWallet, Dec 7, 2017.

  1. MeatWallet

    MeatWallet n00bie

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    I'm at wit's end with this new computer I put together a few months ago. A little over a week ago I get a WHEA, Clock Watchdog endless loop error. Returned to default BIOS settings and I pulled the GPU, tried one stick of ram etc. I then bought a new PSU and cleared the CMOS and resat the CPU, that worked for a while until yesterday. I got more errors and the only way I could get it to boot was to up the Vcore to 1.35 volts. That worked for a bit but then I started getting the errors again. It's not a temp issue everything looks good. It's a 7700K that was delidded by Silicon Lottery with Strix Z270E MB, Corsair 650 PSU, Gigabyte 1080, 16GB Trident Z and Seagate HD. I have the dump files but no idea how to read them. Could someone please help me out? I have no clue what to do now. I can't the .dmp files for some reason but I can email them to you.
     
  2. Montu

    Montu [H]ard DCOTM x4

    Messages:
    7,171
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    If it's doing that at stock speeds it sounds like you have a bum cpu.
     
  3. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,453
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Delid so you can get a 200MHz higher overclock, it comes with it a chance of damage.

    Boggles my mind why people do this.
     
  4. MeatWallet

    MeatWallet n00bie

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    For me it was more about the temps. Mine got pretty hot at stock speeds. Definitely a risk and it may have bit me on the ass in this instance. Hoping it's not the case!
     
  5. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,844
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Try running a skykake x at 4.8 all cores without delidding. Not happening.

    And on an 8x00k series you can go to 5.3 ghz on delid maybe 5.4.

    Far from your paltry claims.
     
  6. Gideon

    Gideon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,508
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Yes but you should not have to do that but Intel does not like to solder their heat spreader. But simple fact is if you overclock you get what you get, it's luck of the draw and if you want to do extreme measures to get more then your on your own when it goes bad. As for the OP your cpu is likely damaged, a increasing need of voltage is a bad sign.
     
    Speedeu4ia likes this.