What's your fallback card?

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
18,424
Radeon 6870 1GB! Oh yeah, its the one I won at [H]ardforum TF2 event in Dallas 4 years ago? Maybe longer than that.... :cool:
 

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
Radeon 6870 1GB! Oh yeah, its the one I won at [H]ardforum TF2 event in Dallas 4 years ago? Maybe longer than that.... :cool:

Yowza, I just gave away my last 6870 as part of a charitable build for kids in the foster program, I figured they could do e-sports games or something on it.
 

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
So why are you guys with reasonably high class AMD fall back cards not mining them? No second rig or just couldn't bother?
 

Sodapopjones

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
1,936
So why are you guys with reasonably high class AMD fall back cards not mining them? No second rig or just couldn't bother?

Its already hot AF in my room, and I have literally no more space for anything... I guess I can add that to motivation to make room lol, since I have a complete rig I could run.
 

RamonGTP

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
8,150
My main card is a 980Ti. I had a GTX 680 in my closet in addition to a 7970 in a 2nd machine but ended up selling both of those. I still have a 6950 that I could use as a fall back card that'll work ok in a handful of the games I play but ultimately, my "fallback" card is located at my local Fry's Electronics or www.amazon.com and is whatever the latest and greatest non-Titan card happens to be.

I personally don't worry about a card failure, the last card I had that failed was a GeForce 4 Ti4400, and it failed well after it was replaced as my primary card and after I had put it though some serious abuse.
 

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
I personally don't worry about a card failure, the last card I had that failed was a GeForce 4 Ti4400, and it failed well after it was replaced as my primary card and after I had put it though some serious abuse.

Yeah I mean a lot of people don't have the luxury OR desire to keep extra crap around "just in case". But I find some people get strangely attached to their "last card" ...."I'm just going to put this baby back in the box and stash it on the shelf, just in case"
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,467
Yeah I mean a lot of people don't have the luxury OR desire to keep extra crap around "just in case". But I find some people get strangely attached to their "last card" ...."I'm just going to put this baby back in the box and stash it on the shelf, just in case"
I usually sell when the new card comes out, and I typically get at least half my money back so it makes upgrading a lot more affordable. However, I do like having a spare around with my 750 Ti, but I bought it specifically as an extra card when I was originally waiting for the 980 to come out.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
10,526
I'm using 3x GTX680 in SLI. Chances are slim that all 3 would die at the same time, so I would just keep using the ones that still worked. Assuming that all 3 did stop working at the same time, I have an AMD 7770 and a 6870 that I could use. 6870 is faster in most situations but isn't supported via the latest drivers unlike the 7770 which is, so it would be a tough choice. I also have a GTX470 that still works, and is surprisingly still supported by the latest Nvidia drivers. If I felt like taking the difficult route, I could put my dual 4870x2 cards back in my main computer for old-school quad crossfire. Unfortunately I'm not sure how many DX11 games even support the DX10.1 downlevel path anymore, and the cards only work with very old drivers at this point.
 

dgacioch

Weaksauce
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
89
I still have my old asus radeon 7850 sitting in a drawer. Debating putting it in a second rig or just selling it at this point. Served me pretty well right up until last year when i bought gtx 1080.
 

McDork

Gawd
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
557
My fallback card is an EVGA 8800GTS. It isn't much, so I probably wouldn't use it for very long.
 

Lunas

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 22, 2001
Messages
9,967
I am not selling any of my cards nor do i mine on them. Right now i'm dabbling in burstcoin mining off 2 old wd 1tb usb 2.0 externals and 2 4tb wd mybooks and 1 toshiba 500gb oh and i just added 4 16 gb usb sticks 2x 32gb and a slow pny 128gb microsd and a nice sony 64gb. I am just north of 10tb...

As for my fall back card i suppose it is a msi r9 390 i have not taken the time to install that in my main rig. right now i have a xfx r9 280x in my rig and a sapphire r9 270x in box... I have been thinking about selling either the 280x or the 270x but meh i have a HTPC that could use the 270x and my older rig could use the 280x. As for why i'm not currently mining the shit out of these cards. My ac broke it was 103 yesterday and i have been looking into ethereum mining. If i could find a good scrypt coin to mine i have 2 asic that i could mine with but my auto switching pool just shut down so i shut them down...
 

CaptNumbNutz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
22,719
My fallback card is a Visa. I go buy a new video card with it when the old video card dies.


upload_2017-6-13_18-19-42.jpeg
 

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,825
Gangsta ass 610gt nigga!
It's worse than intel integrated. It lags on aero @ 1440....
 

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
Gangsta ass 610gt nigga!
It's worse than intel integrated. It lags on aero @ 1440....

I have the PCI version of that card (not pcie) it's my go to for troubleshooting the worst old crap in the world. Mine is a zotac and I keep it beside it's brother, the gt 210 pcie. x1.
 

spine

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
2,670
Nothing but nvidia for myself...

980 -> 580 -> 470 -> 520 -> IGP (4790K)

...well almost! :p

And since I have the 520 to hand and it's so cute...

IMG_20170614_0744174.jpg

VGA, HDMI, Dual Link DVI. Bloody handy!
 

rhansen5_99

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
Messages
2,153
Hey I have that exact same gt520 as a fall back, just a smidge faster than the intel hd 4400 in the g3260 :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: spine
like this

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
I mean I posted my actual fallback card, but I have so many bloody cards, I could fall back to pretty much anything except the tier one cards. Though I do have a couple Furys in a drawer somewhere and there's a couple 1070's downstairs but I got them covered in sawdust so I'd have to clean them... frag it. I could probably live on the GT 610 PCI indefinitely.
 

///AMG

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
3,587
I mean I posted my actual fallback card, but I have so many bloody cards, I could fall back to pretty much anything except the tier one cards. Though I do have a couple Furys in a drawer somewhere and there's a couple 1070's downstairs but I got them covered in sawdust so I'd have to clean them... frag it. I could probably live on the GT 610 PCI indefinitely.

I actually dont have any extras. If anything breaks Ill just replace it. I also have like 4 laptops I can use.
 

Burticus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
4,546
I hadn't really thought about it, but for my main rig I guess the i5-6600k has an igpu good enough to surf on until a replacement was available. I also have a GT730 I could harvest out of my test system but I won't be doing any gaming on that, either.

If my GTX 1070 exploded and it's in warranty, then igpu until the RMA comes back. If it's out of warranty, then no rules apply.

But yeah like others, I don't see the logic in keeping stuff in the closet just for spares. I always sell my old card when I upgrade. Well, except when I don't, like below.
 
Last edited:

Burticus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
4,546
S3 Virge

Remember when I had a voodoo .. my buddys shit beat me... edit: or did i beat him ?
LOL


http://vintage3d.org/virgemx.php#sthash.kK4dusCH.dpbs

Feast your eyes on this beast. Behold the mighty Virge VX with a massive 8MB of VRAM! I only keep this around to test stuff with, it's my only remaining PCI video card. Good enough to test POST etc, but windows? 1024x768 is the max for this bad boy. I think I was using this in 96 or 97 as my 2D card with my 3dfx monster voodoo 1 card. GL quake was awesome. The 3D on this POS was useless.
 

Attachments

  • virge.jpg
    virge.jpg
    408.4 KB · Views: 26

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
Feast your eyes on this beast. Behold the mighty Virge VX with a massive 8MB of VRAM! I only keep this around to test stuff with, it's my only remaining PCI video card. Good enough to test POST etc, but windows? 1024x768 is the max for this bad boy. I think I was using this in 96 or 97 as my 2D card with my 3dfx monster voodoo 1 card. GL quake was awesome. The 3D on this POS was useless.

LOL, that's bloody excellent. I keep a GT 610 PCI around for the same reason.
 

Burticus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
4,546
LOL, that's bloody excellent. I keep a GT 610 PCI around for the same reason.

Well to be fair, a GT 610 isn't useless, the Virge is. This thing can barely draw a desktop. If I had a GT 610 PCI card, this thing would be in the garbage. Maybe.

I've scrounged quite a few 610, 620 and a 730 out of the open box/clearance bin from Microcenter. Most for like $10-15 each. They're ok generic workstation cards.

I have a Matrox AGP card around here somewhere too, if anyone still has an AGP slot, you can have it for free just pay shipping. PM me. (edit - looked on ebay, it might be a G450, it's a dual head VGA card that probably came out of an early 2000's era workstation or server)
 
Last edited:

Simplyfun

Gawd
Joined
Dec 17, 2016
Messages
1,012
Well to be fair, a GT 610 isn't useless, the Virge is. This thing can barely draw a desktop. If I had a GT 610 PCI card, this thing would be in the garbage. Maybe.

I've scrounged quite a few 610, 620 and a 730 out of the open box/clearance bin from Microcenter. Most for like $10-15 each. They're ok generic workstation cards.

I have a Matrox AGP card around here somewhere too, if anyone still has an AGP slot, you can have it for free just pay shipping. PM me. (edit - looked on ebay, it might be a G450, it's a dual head VGA card that probably came out of an early 2000's era workstation or server)

The most useful AGP card I still have left is an AMD 3450 AGP. It pretty much works with everything from the AGP type era though I know there's an x800 in a box there. Still, the 3450 is pretty universally recognized by all operating systems even now.
 

whateverer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
1,399
I have a GT210 just in case. Haven't used it in years.

But my computer has onboard HD4400, which works just fine. So basically only if that AND my GTX 960 fails on me.
 
Top