What's Inside "THAT" firewall Pictures Thread

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
I haven't seen a thread about this so i thought maybe we could start one.

The topic Of course post pictures of what's inside your firewall or *A* firewall

Here are a few pictures of insides of 2 Sonicwall Unit's

a 2040




and a older TZ170,




And a Astaro 220 Firewall.



 

jadams

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2010
Messages
4,087
oh dammit, i dont have pictures of the insides! and im certainly not taking it out of production now :(

http://i52.tinypic.com/xmrh2w.jpg

outside though.

inside is a c2d 2.13ghz and 2gb of ram running pfsense, was 2.0 beta for awhile but it was too flaky, switched to 1.2.3
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
19,298
what is amazing is how so many people flock to these "hardware" firewalls and they are just pc parts with a *nix OS, somehow superior to building your own atom box and tossing pfsense or UT on it,

should be an intersting thread, i dont have anypics but can try next time i pop open my Q8200, 4G of ram 5x intel giga nics and a corsair 420W PSU running untangle box.
 

Brak710

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
1,424
what is amazing is how so many people flock to these "hardware" firewalls and they are just pc parts with a *nix OS, somehow superior to building your own atom box and tossing pfsense or UT on it,

should be an intersting thread, i dont have anypics but can try next time i pop open my Q8200, 4G of ram 5x intel giga nics and a corsair 420W PSU running untangle box.
Atom boxes start at $250 at least, firewall appliances can be $50-75.
 

C7J0yc3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 27, 2009
Messages
1,353
for a consumer grade one sure. or a old OLD one.
My firebox x700 was $75, x750s go for about $200ish.

The trick is to find appliances without licensing. If I could buy say a sonicwall NSA2400 as just bare metal hardware it would only cost about $400, it is the licenses that get you.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
My firebox x700 was $75, x750s go for about $200ish.

The trick is to find appliances without licensing. If I could buy say a sonicwall NSA2400 as just bare metal hardware it would only cost about $400, it is the licenses that get you.
I bet it cost's them less to make it than 400$ too LOL
 

Brak710

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
1,424
I have tons of Firebox Xs and many detailed images of them, but if we're just looking for a general overview, Veeb0rg has that handled.

If people still want them posted, I can.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
I have tons of Firebox Xs and many detailed images of them, but if we're just looking for a general overview, Veeb0rg has that handled.

If people still want them posted, I can.
YES YES please post lots of them insides and out :) ( of course of different models )

Thanks
 

Red Squirrel

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,211
The fireboxes really are nice. A typical person would probably think it's for the fire alarm system LOL.
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
19,298
sure, great, get one with no license.

No license = no updated AV / Phishing / SPAM records

so pretty much useless....

fireboxes are over priced pieces of crap, period.

with things like pfsense, untangle now a days being around, there is almost next to 0 reason to get a watchgaurd box, they use the same things the free boxes use, but they claim you need their support to keep your network secure, it is all marketing BS.
 

Veeb0rg

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 31, 2000
Messages
3,278
Course you can always install pfsense onto the watchgaurd hardware and use it that way.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
546
Someone already posted a picture of the firebox 700.. the 1000 is exactly the same soooo no point in posting it.

I might be throwing up an Untangle VM soon though. Or a stop spam server, not sure yet.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
The point of this thread was to get pictures of peoples firewalls, inside and out side and in there working environment.

Let's get this going guys :)
 

Brak710

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
1,424
I won't post many of the images since they are kind of dupes, but I also have an album for you hardware porn geeks like me. Album is here. Does have pictures of one of mine that has a melted PSU. :(



 

dle1232003

n00b
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
38
Got myself an ASA the other month, i stripped it down to see the insides, thought i'd share the pictures aswell.

It was used at remote sites to connect via vpn into the Head Offices' servers, however they got too big for themselves and decided to set up a website, so the users just go to website x and log in and are able to access the database as needed. so these asa's are now not needed



 

ejgriffin

n00b
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
5
Some photos of the insides of my 1941 with ISM-SRE-300, HWIC-1ADSL (adsl modem) and EHWIC-D-8ESG-P (8-port poe gigabit switch).












 

Hallis

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
4,558
Might I also request that when you guys post pics you also post a little information? As in what CPU/Mem it has, ports, and information about if it boots with a normal PC style BIOS or otherwise? And maybe a snippit of what you're doing or have done with it in the past. Might help others looking to repurpose an old enterprise level throw-away.

Only firewall i've had dealings with was the good 'ol Firebox like those that were posted here running pfSense as a router.
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
Might I also request that when you guys post pics you also post a little information? As in what CPU/Mem it has, ports, and information about if it boots with a normal PC style BIOS or otherwise? And maybe a snippit of what you're doing or have done with it in the past. Might help others looking to repurpose an old enterprise level throw-away.

Only firewall i've had dealings with was the good 'ol Firebox like those that were posted here running pfSense as a router.
I'm playing with pfsense on a mini computer ( in pictures my thread ) and i like it, would you or could you suggest a good firebox rackmounted that would be good with vlans and multi nics ?


This >

Watchguard Firebox X500 R6264S

Watchguard Firebox X700 R6264S

what's the difference ? ( cpu speed ? )
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,177
As an update to my PIX 525 above I installed a 1.1GHz P3 into it as well as a larger heatsink:



Stock vs. New vs. DL380 tualatin

 

Lag

n00b
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
22

Not quite as cool as some of these other firewalls, but it gets the job done.
ALIX 2d13 (AMD Geode LX800 / 256MB DDR / 3x 100M) currently running pfsense 2.x
 

dashpuppy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
6,163
Just got one of these bitches tonight...

Dlink DFL-210 Updated the firmware to 2.27.03.25-14787

Inside :



 

Jay_2

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
3,583
I should be fixing the PSU in my Cisco 1841 tonight. I'll post a pic.
 
Top