What The Hell? Random Reboot Issue - New Hardware Hasn't Fixed It!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SineDave, Sep 15, 2018.

  1. SineDave

    SineDave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Hi Guys,

    I don't normally post here looking for help, since like most of you I've been building/repairing/troubleshooting my own rigs for 20+ years, but this time I'm seriously confused.

    A couple of weeks ago my trusty i7-4770K/Sabertooth Z87 rig suddenly rebooted on me during a game, and wouldn't come back on. The monitor would flicker, and while resetting CMOS and performing all the standard troubleshooting steps (no GPU, memory one stick at a time etc) would get me into BIOS for a few seconds, the PC would reboot again.

    After a lot of troubleshooting (including using iGPU only), Asus finally agreed to an RMA. I received the MB back about 10 days later, with a simple note stating they could not reproduce the problem, and flashed the BIOS to the latest version.

    Ok, fair enough. This machine is quite old already, so I decide to just replace the CPU/MB/Memory and PSU.

    As of last night, I installed a Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7, i7-8086K, 32GB of G-Skill Ripjaws V memory and an EVGA Supernova 1200 P2 PSU. I reinstall my Asus Strix GTX 1080, and proceed to reinstall Windows 10. Temps are excellent across the board - and nothing has gotten remotely close to thermal limits. My GPU hit ~65C during Furmark, but that's it.

    Here's a screencap of temps during AIDA64 GPU + CPU stability test:

    aU3BsL8.png


    I got Divinity Original Sin 2 installed, and got my friends into the game. Not 20 minutes goes by, and my machine just reboots. This repeats itself a couple of times before I begin to troubleshoot further. All I see in event viewer is event ID 41 - unexpected restart. I begin to google the issue, and while I am away from the PC to get some water, it reboots again, this time just at the Windows desktop. This morning, I left it running Divinity 2 before I ran some errands, and came back to see it had rebooted 3 times:

    upload_2018-9-15_13-13-54.png

    I have run Furmark, OCCT and Unigine Valley on the machine with no noticeable issues, and then out of nowhere it will suddenly reboot.

    **Edit** I was able to get the machine to start boot looping after running the OCCT Power Supply Test for ~10 min. Swapped in my HTPC's 1060, and will test again.

    So - even with the 1060, still getting reboots. This is seriously messed up.


    I've also done the following:
    • Unplug all USB devices other than the Keyboard/Mouse
    • Remove the previous power strip and replace it with a Furman strip I use in the home theater

    I am leaning towards the GPU being the issue, as it's the only hardware (other than 3 SSDs) that isn't new.

    Any ideas/thoughts on this? I'm getting seriously frustrated.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
  2. sinisterDei

    sinisterDei Gawd

    Messages:
    704
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    In my opinion, given what you've already replaced, power is your most likely candidate. By power I mean power at the wall, or your actual stupid power cable, not your PSU. Plug it in somewhere else in the house, or bring it over to a buddy's house and see if it freaks out there. It's also possible, and would be super stupid, that your physical reset key on the chassis is shorting out or something, so go ahead and unplug that just in case.

    Beyond that, it's pretty confusing.
     
    Gigantopithecus, spine and pendragon1 like this.
  3. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    ^that's a good suggestion. only other thing to try, if I read right, is another gpu.
     
  4. doubletake

    doubletake Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    499
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Also, don't run Furmark. It isn't even a real benchmark anymore since it's been throttled by the Nv drivers for like...4+ years?
     
  5. sinisterDei

    sinisterDei Gawd

    Messages:
    704
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    I was under the impression he's since swapped out for a GTX 1060 and still had reboots. So happens with multiple GPUs.
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yeah I missed the edit.
     
  7. dvsman

    dvsman [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    You said the GPU is the only thing that isn't new? So you have an old power supply laying around?

    I'd swap out the power supply (the old one will do) and see if it still happens. I always lean towards power supply or ram when weird things happen.
     
  8. DrLobotomy

    DrLobotomy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,949
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    HDD/SSD's and SATA cables and power cord seems the only things left.
     
  9. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,384
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Unplug your front panel button connector, or better yet pizza box the machine to remove the case entirely. I've seen this twice in the last 3-4 months and it was bad reset switches causing the problem.
     
    dvsman, SineDave and pendragon1 like this.
  10. SineDave

    SineDave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    So I unplugged all the drives and the case headers, just left my NVME main drive connected to the motherboard. No reboots/issues at all.

    So we are down to an SSD/HDD or the case. I am thinking it's the case
     
  11. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,355
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    I spilt pickled onion juice on my keyboard one time and it caused random reboots like you describe. Gave BSODs actually. Took me AGES to figure it out, lol.

    So yeah, try different keyboard and/or mouse, you might be surprised... o_O
     
  12. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    lol what? snacks(weird) or mixing a drink(ok)?
     
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    or a bad cable maybe.
     
  14. AP514

    AP514 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    320
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    I would plug the HDD back in..then the SSD 1 at a time..last would be the case headers. 1 at a time...give time in between. ( my money is on the case header)
     
  15. SineDave

    SineDave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    You're right.. it was the case headers. Time to replace my trusty Fractal Design Define R4.
     
  16. LigTasm

    LigTasm [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,384
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    It may be under warranty still? Reach out to fractal and ask if they can send you the front headers. Usually just a few screws holding it in. At worst it would be a couple $ although I totally get the urge to change my cases all the time so I wouldn't blame you for doing that either.
     
    GoldenTiger and pendragon1 like this.
  17. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,539
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  18. Fractal Design NA

    Fractal Design NA Sales and Community Manager

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Replacing a faulty front I/O shouldn't be much trouble.

    SineDave have you tried contacting our support team yet at support.fractal-design.com to see about getting a replacement? Every case comes with a 2 year warranty but even if that's passed I'm sure we can still get you whichever part you're needing free of charge if you can cover the shipping.
     
    LigTasm and pendragon1 like this.
  19. SineDave

    SineDave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Fractal Design NA thank you for the kind offer! I couldn't resist the opportunity to buy a Define R6 USB-C :D