What is the recommended amount of RAM these days?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by kniwor, Apr 14, 2019.

  1. kniwor

    kniwor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    So, I have not built/upgraded in a while. I am in the process of upgrading from i5-2500 to Ryzen 5 1600. I got the processor, Motherboard and 16Gb RAM (2x8Gb) and it's all good.

    But wondering - my old PC (that I did over 5 years ago) also had 16Gb RAM. What's the RAM recommendation these days. I do light gaming (currently have 1 1050Ti but was inspired by another thread here on [H] to look into an upgrade) and browing etc.. But my question is just more general - what's the amount of ram that is in line with current specs of processor, graphic etc?
     
  2. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    286
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    16GB is more than enough for for gaming and general use but for some things it can be much higher.
     
    criccio and kniwor like this.
  3. kniwor

    kniwor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Other things being Video editing etc?
     
  4. ReaperX22

    ReaperX22 Gawd

    Messages:
    700
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Yes, 16gb is still plenty for 95% of users. If you need more, you'd generally know it!
     
    kniwor likes this.
  5. Keljian

    Keljian Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    311
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    I do lots of two things - CAD and programming - in my circumstance, especially with lots of browser tabs, 16gig isn't sufficient - 32 is generally ample
     
  6. kniwor

    kniwor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Hundreds of browser tabs is what is usually my sin. But I have two more slots available if I should feel the need for an upgrade later.
     
  7. She loved E

    She loved E n00b

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    16gb sticks are so cheap I'd buy them. A couple years back I bought a 4x4 kit & now that seems quaint.
     
  8. Conker

    Conker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,022
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    64GB or higher is great for heavy users. The more the better. I had 32GB for years and i was always maxing it out with tons of browser tabs open. If you have adblockers and addons those eat a lot of memory also. Really the more memory you can get the better in the long run and the short term ;)
     
  9. kniwor

    kniwor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    From what I've noticed lately memory appears to be one of the more expensive parts of the system!
     
    jrobdog likes this.
  10. funkydmunky

    funkydmunky 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,218
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    You'll never need more then 640K. Anyone saying different is full of it.
     
    sknight, GoldenTiger and kindasmart like this.
  11. dark_reign

    dark_reign 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,155
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Prices have been coming down quite a bit and should come down even more. I paid $134 for 16GB of G.SKILL 3200 DDR4 ram back in November and it now sells for $99 or lower.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  12. kindasmart

    kindasmart Gawd

    Messages:
    636
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Actually 640 is nearly double what you need. All you really need is tree-fiddy.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  13. Silentbob343

    Silentbob343 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,756
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    I made the same upgrade and went with 16GB as well. Based on my research if you are just gaming with light productivity 16GB is just fine.
     
  14. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,670
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    why? I dont understand the reasoning behind having hundreds of tab open. have you left open every site you've ever been too?
     
  15. Niner21

    Niner21 n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    I agree with 16GB being the sweet spot. I upgraded to 32GB recently due to the prices coming down and it fit more to my needs.
     
  16. Zareek

    Zareek Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    185
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    I'm not video editing or doing massive CAD simulations so 16GB is more than enough for my needs. I rarely see more than 6GB being used and I regularly fill my entire browser with tabs so small they are hard to click on. Two windows on dual displays to boot. I'm often amazed at how little RAM is being used considering there is 16GB available. Despite that, the hardware nut in me keeps thinking about adding another 16GB since prices have dropped so much...
     
  17. pitingres

    pitingres n00b

    Messages:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    8 GB is OK for light duty office-type use or super tight budget builds. I'm on the 16 GB bandwagon for most general and gaming builds. IMO 32GB is still in the category of "if you don't know why you need 32, you don't."
     
  18. SvenBent

    SvenBent 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,744
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    6cores x2 for smt = 12 logical cores
    7zip uses 15gb per 2 logical cores for maximum compression

    12/2*15 = 90 GB so i would advise 96 GB for this CPU
     
  19. ZeqOBpf6

    ZeqOBpf6 Gawd

    Messages:
    585
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Saying you need 32GB of ram for all your browser tabs is like saying you need a 4k screen so you can fit more icons on the desktop.
     
    ReaperX22 and pendragon1 like this.
  20. rhansen5_99

    rhansen5_99 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,977
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    32gb on my workstation, but also spin up a bunch of test environments with VMWare Workstation / other local services. But really you should know if you need more that 16GB. Also helps if you have a shared workstation / lock vs logoff.
     
  21. kniwor

    kniwor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Yea, I've been using it with 16 for a few days now, and things seem fine. I can always add another two 8G sticks if the need arises - I don't think it will be soon though.
     
    ReaperX22 likes this.
  22. ReaperX22

    ReaperX22 Gawd

    Messages:
    700
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    I've never gone over like 12gb at home. At work I have a 32GB machine, and I hit around 17-18GB peak typically. I don't really run VMs, or anything fancy, but I do have 4 different browsers due to different environment logins for the same system, many tabs in each, several remote desktops and often several office-suite apps. Somehow this adds up to around that much, but often I'm still below this. I could probably manage with 16GB..
     
  23. tedych

    tedych Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    332
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    The question is a bit silly. What you really need is all on you and your exact activities. Today 16GB seems to be the sweet spot for say 80-90% of home systems, but depending on software used and usage patterns you *could* benefit from having 32GB.
    But it's not always "the more the better". Ryzen (and not only) doesn't play well with 4 sticks of RAM, everything else being the same. You would have to balance between more ram sticks and faster ram. Some MBs and BIOSes could worsen the matter by not allowing (easily) to pass 2133MHz with 4 sticks.
    Almost the same with 2x8 vs. 2x16 although much less of an issue.
    With my activity I can use up to 6-7-8 GB of RAM peak, and can run 2 VMs simultaneously for tests which happens rarely. I could "want" to run 4-5-6 VMs sometimes (once in 4 years) but is this a reason to put 4x8 sticks which I'll eventually use in 0.001% of the lifetime of the PC..
    I have my server where I can offload some VMs (or anything) for such rare occasions.
     
  24. sknight

    sknight n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    I think Pr0n is probably his "tab addiction". lol
     
    pendragon1 likes this.