weird python problem

hey, all. i'm pretty new to python, so i'm not understanding what is causing this error.

from the interpreter, when i use the command shown
Code:
from xml.dom import minidom

i get

Code:
>>> from xml.dom import minidom
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "/home/uname/xml.py", line 3, in <module>
ImportError: No module named dom

but let me explain something first... i was doing the same work on this machine just an hour ago and that very import line worked. no joke! what could have changed?

thanks.

The most likely thing is that you're doing this in a program/interpreter session where you've already defined xml to be something else, like a string containing your xml.

if the previous answer didnt solve it, does it still do that when you open up a brand new interpreter ?

If you have a python version older than 2.0 you won't have minidom either.

sorry about my slow reply... got busy last night and then the internet went down.

so i ssh'd back into the box and here's what happened when i fired python back up and tried again

Code:
Python 2.5.2 (r252:60911, Jul 31 2008, 17:28:52)
[GCC 4.2.3 (Ubuntu 4.2.3-2ubuntu7)] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> from xml.dom import minidom
Error in sys.excepthook:
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/apport_python_hook.py", line 38, in apport_excepthook
    from apport.packaging_impl import impl as packaging
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/apport/__init__.py", line 1, in <module>
    from apport.report import Report
  File "/usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/apport/report.py", line 17, in <module>
    import xml.dom, xml.dom.minidom

Original exception was:
>>>

mind you, this is the first time today that i tried to import this package.