Web Server Question

I have a computer that I would like to use as a server to host a web page and email. I am new to the networking scene. I would like to know if it would be possible to host my own web page and domain name. Thanks, John

Yes, you can. Provided you have a sufficient internet connection to the server. Most DSL/cable in home installations is insufficient for most purposes, from a bandwidth and a TOS standpoint (check with your ISP to make sure servers are allowed).

Ideally, a server will be running Apache under some form of unix/linux. You an, however, run it under Windows, although Windows is far inferior in capability to the unix/linux systems in regard to web hosting, and especially security. If you do choose to host under windows, be sure that only port 80 (or whatever port you choose) is allowed to be open externally.

For the server software, Apache Group makes the best software. It is by far the fastest, most secure, and most extensible. It has the largest support base, due to its open source nature.

The version you need is here:http://mirrors.combose.com/apache/httpd/binaries/win32/apache_2.0.50-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi

This is a brief and general overview. Feel free to post any specific questions in regard to what you will be doing with this server.

For a small personal site Cable/DSL will be fine, whether or not it meets the TOS (who cares anyways they never have said anything to me) I don't know. I would reccommend Apache though. And as for OS, pick what you are comfortable on. Don't let people tell you that you can't run Apache or a webserver without a *nix variant.

Stinger836 said:
For a small personal site Cable/DSL will be fine, whether or not it meets the TOS (who cares anyways they never have said anything to me) I don't know. I would reccommend Apache though. And as for OS, pick what you are comfortable on. Don't let people tell you that you can't run Apache or a webserver without a *nix variant.