W10 takes ages to boot with Raid card

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by M76, Aug 13, 2017 at 10:39 AM.

  1. M76

    M76 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,933
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    I've added a HBA to my computer, and now windows 10 sits for 2-3 minutes at the blue windows logo before the circling points animation starts and the actual boot happens.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,567
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Mechanical drives or SSD's? I've got a HBA card that I bought to add extra SATA ports so I could run an optical drive as well as all my HDD's, there's no way I'd use it as a raid card though as it's a piece of crap.

    What card are we talking about here?
     
  3. skiddierow

    skiddierow Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    231
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    I have a couple 9201-16i, they take 2-3 min to start up with the boot rom enabled.
     
  4. M76

    M76 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,933
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Well it's not the boot room, that takes a while as well, but the boot process is definitely paused just when windows should start to load. The card is a rocketraid 2680.
     
  5. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,537
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Sounds like maybe it's looking at other boot options and eventually it times out and boots from the RAID controller.

    What RAID level?

    Did it initialize the drives?

    .
     
  6. M76

    M76 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,933
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    That's exactly it I don't want it to boot from the RAID, and the raid is not bootable. I've set the boot drive to my OS drive, and enabled the option in bios to hide every other device during post except the boot drive which in theory should quicken the boot process.

    The RAID array came from another system fully initialized just ripped it out from my server and put it in my main computer so the server could run uninterrupted while I perform some backups. I'm planning to retire the entire raid including the HBA, but first I have to back up the data from it.
    It's a 6 drive Raid5 not that should matter. One drive was failing and I replaced it with a new one, but the boot process is still slow.
     
  7. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,537
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Did it rebuild the new drive successfully (or is that still in progress)?

    Is everything normal once the OS boots to the desktop (you can see the RAID volumes)?

    You might just have to deal with the delay while Windows enumerates and loads drivers for the extra controller and virtual drive.
    At least you're saying it's a temporary setup so you won't have to suffer this forever. :)

    .
     
  8. M76

    M76 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,933
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    It's normal after that. But it's not loading any drivers. The pause happens at the "NT LOADER" phase.