vmware 6.7 U2 released.

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by Grimlaking, Apr 3, 2019.

  1. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Goodbye Vsphere crappy flash hello everything in HTML5.
     
  2. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Just checked Dell's website for out VM hosts and no 6.7 U2 iso yet. Waiting eagerly for that one . Bye bye flash!
     
  3. Child of Wonder

    Child of Wonder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,269
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
  4. danswartz

    danswartz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,612
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
  5. AliceCooper

    AliceCooper [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,477
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    I'm planning on moving the company I work for to 6.7 U1, any reason to wait for U2? I moved us to 6.5 U1 last year, flash is terrible...
     
  6. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    According to the last VMworld (2018) one of the BIG points about 6.7 U2 is a 100% functional HTML 5 interface. Meaning you don't have to access the flash interface to do ANYTHING. I don't know about you but I love how that sounds.
     
    Space_Ranger and danswartz like this.
  7. multi-tasking_guy

    multi-tasking_guy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    how do i upgrade? im running 6.7.0 build 8169922
     
  8. DeaconFrost

    DeaconFrost [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,989
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    The HTML5 version has been working well for me on our vBlocks.
     
  9. AliceCooper

    AliceCooper [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,477
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Sweet I will look into U2. I thought I read somewhere it was 100% in U1, but maybe I was dreaming when I read that haha.
     
  10. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    They could have done it early. I'm not sure.
     
  11. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    For your Hypervizor it's as easy as pushing an new image.

    For your vsphere you may be able to do an upgrade install. (or just make a new one.)

    How you do that is dependent on the type you have but there are instructions with your download when you pull it down. So I guess... Follow instructions?
     
  12. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,296
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    That build number is the GA version of ESXi 6.7. If you're using vCenter, upgrade it first using VAMI for the appliance or the windows installer if you're running it in Windows. Then use update manager to patch your host(s). If you're running a standalone host, easiest way is get the latest iso and boot from it to do the upgrade.

    But you can't do any of this yet for 6.7u2 because it was only announced, not shipped.
     
    schizrade likes this.
  13. Edgar

    Edgar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,540
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    The company I work for. We host these for customers. And our environment is also in it. This would be amazing to say bye to flash.
     
  14. Child of Wonder

    Child of Wonder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,269
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Even easier is to upgrade from the command line with esxcli:

    esxcli software sources profile list --depot=https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
    esxcli software profile update -p ESXi-6.7.0-<latest dated image>-standard -d https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
    reboot
     
    bbenz33 likes this.
  15. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,296
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    And you should be able to do update 2 now as well if you want to do it this way. I still prefer booting from the iso and running through prompts but it does take more time.

    esxcli software profile update -p ESXi-6.7.0-20190402001-standard -d https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
     
  16. Child of Wonder

    Child of Wonder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,269
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
  17. vxspiritxv

    vxspiritxv [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,463
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Just updated the VCSA, HTML5 version still won't allow me to set over 10GB of virtual flash (where flash version does).
    So, no change for me, still have to use flash version from time to time :(
     
  18. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    What the heck. That is disappointing. Last VMWORLD they promised 100% functionality in the HTML5 interface. If I get to go this year I will be on the insider panels and will definitely bring that up. That's bullshit.
     
  19. Solhokuten

    Solhokuten [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,204
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Still cant manage switches or routers with NSX manager.
     
  20. Riccochet

    Riccochet Off Topic Award

    Messages:
    21,501
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    great, we're upgrading out environment over the next couple weeks. All new Cisco UCS blades going in first. I was looking forward to 6.7u2.
     
  21. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    I'm still going to go to it, but waiting on Dell to get their 6.7u2 custom ISO in the wild first.
     
  22. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,780
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Well shit on a stick. I suppose I can begin the process of testing in Dev and prep for future... no I can't I have two more new vmware clusters to stand up with their own Vcenter's. So I guess I can do it after I get all of that stood up. *grumbles* Had it been 1 month ago I could be doing all of this with 6.7u2 and not running half my thread count. At least that is going to be temporary.
     
  23. vxspiritxv

    vxspiritxv [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,463
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Just finished my home boxes, T630 updated all firmwares then installed via idrac virtual iso. No issues very quick. Then came my old R710 took me 4 hours to get the bios updated (easy FTP mode no longer works) and the bios is larger than a virtual floppy (on iso).
    ...add it to a linux iso got checksum error.
    ...booted centos7 live, no network
    ended up using hirens.
    Then installed esx fresh (because I hacked up the old install playing with things, wanted it fresh) and ran into my next issue adding it to vcenter would error. It would see the SSL cert to accept then error out with unable to connect restart management service kind of message. Turns out just had to disable ipv6. What a PITA.
    Bit surprised too, thought they dropped the PERC6i in ESX6.7, apparently not.
    Really fast (ignore the PERC, it has NVMe too), really cheap, game server :)

    upload_2019-4-28_23-44-28.png
    upload_2019-4-28_23-46-30.png
     
  24. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,833
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I'm currently running 6.0 U2 with a physical vCenter. I really want to move to 6.7 U2 VCSA and update my host to 6.7U2 as well.

    All of my guest OSes are listed as either legacy or compatible with 6.7. My backup software is 6.7 U2 compliant. Is there anything else I should be on the look out for?

    The only thing I can see is that we occasionally spin up new Cisco VM templates and I read they will not install if the hypervisor is not on their compatibility list (I haven't tested this yet). I'm guessing I could keep an old box around to deploy then just copy over the VM with an external drive or something.
     
  25. Solhokuten

    Solhokuten [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,204
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    You probably want to make sure your distributed switches dont need an update before you upgrade to 6.7. Only thing I can think of ATM.
     
  26. FlangeMonkey

    FlangeMonkey Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    161
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Are people aware VMware dropped the vmklinux driver stack and as of 6.7 U2 only native is supported. This means a lot of older kit without native drivers won't work on u2.
     
  27. somebrains

    somebrains Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    472
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    The ISP I contracted with is aware of it, but I got their lead guy a job somewhere else. Whoever replaced him gets to deal with the mish mash of Dell and HP sourced gear.

    I hated everything VMware tried after 5.5, it pushed me to working on AWS and K8's.

    Jokes on me, VMware material just appeared in the AWS SA Pro exam for 2019. I should have sat the old exam that didn't inject VMware and Block chain ?'s.

    I've seen a bunch of guys at the local AWS Loft recently getting up to speed bc they all have hybrid or full on migrations planned for this year.