vmware 6.7 U2 released.

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
Just checked Dell's website for out VM hosts and no 6.7 U2 iso yet. Waiting eagerly for that one . Bye bye flash!
 

AliceCooper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,476
I'm planning on moving the company I work for to 6.7 U1, any reason to wait for U2? I moved us to 6.5 U1 last year, flash is terrible...
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
According to the last VMworld (2018) one of the BIG points about 6.7 U2 is a 100% functional HTML 5 interface. Meaning you don't have to access the flash interface to do ANYTHING. I don't know about you but I love how that sounds.
 

AliceCooper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,476
According to the last VMworld (2018) one of the BIG points about 6.7 U2 is a 100% functional HTML 5 interface. Meaning you don't have to access the flash interface to do ANYTHING. I don't know about you but I love how that sounds.
Sweet I will look into U2. I thought I read somewhere it was 100% in U1, but maybe I was dreaming when I read that haha.
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
how do i upgrade? im running 6.7.0 build 8169922
For your Hypervizor it's as easy as pushing an new image.

For your vsphere you may be able to do an upgrade install. (or just make a new one.)

How you do that is dependent on the type you have but there are instructions with your download when you pull it down. So I guess... Follow instructions?
 

ND40oz

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
11,564
how do i upgrade? im running 6.7.0 build 8169922
For your Hypervizor it's as easy as pushing an new image.

For your vsphere you may be able to do an upgrade install. (or just make a new one.)

How you do that is dependent on the type you have but there are instructions with your download when you pull it down. So I guess... Follow instructions?
That build number is the GA version of ESXi 6.7. If you're using vCenter, upgrade it first using VAMI for the appliance or the windows installer if you're running it in Windows. Then use update manager to patch your host(s). If you're running a standalone host, easiest way is get the latest iso and boot from it to do the upgrade.

But you can't do any of this yet for 6.7u2 because it was only announced, not shipped.
 

Edgar

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
2,608
The company I work for. We host these for customers. And our environment is also in it. This would be amazing to say bye to flash.
 
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
3,269
That build number is the GA version of ESXi 6.7. If you're using vCenter, upgrade it first using VAMI for the appliance or the windows installer if you're running it in Windows. Then use update manager to patch your host(s). If you're running a standalone host, easiest way is get the latest iso and boot from it to do the upgrade.

But you can't do any of this yet for 6.7u2 because it was only announced, not shipped.
Even easier is to upgrade from the command line with esxcli:

esxcli software sources profile list --depot=https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
esxcli software profile update -p ESXi-6.7.0-<latest dated image>-standard -d https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
reboot
 

ND40oz

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
11,564
Even easier is to upgrade from the command line with esxcli:

esxcli software sources profile list --depot=https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
esxcli software profile update -p ESXi-6.7.0-<latest dated image>-standard -d https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
reboot
And you should be able to do update 2 now as well if you want to do it this way. I still prefer booting from the iso and running through prompts but it does take more time.

esxcli software profile update -p ESXi-6.7.0-20190402001-standard -d https://hostupdate.vmware.com/software/VUM/PRODUCTION/main/vmw-depot-index.xml
 

vxspiritxv

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2001
Messages
1,518
Just updated the VCSA, HTML5 version still won't allow me to set over 10GB of virtual flash (where flash version does).
So, no change for me, still have to use flash version from time to time :(
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
Just updated the VCSA, HTML5 version still won't allow me to set over 10GB of virtual flash (where flash version does).
So, no change for me, still have to use flash version from time to time :(
What the heck. That is disappointing. Last VMWORLD they promised 100% functionality in the HTML5 interface. If I get to go this year I will be on the insider panels and will definitely bring that up. That's bullshit.
 

Riccochet

Off Topic Award
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
22,928
great, we're upgrading out environment over the next couple weeks. All new Cisco UCS blades going in first. I was looking forward to 6.7u2.
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
I'm still going to go to it, but waiting on Dell to get their 6.7u2 custom ISO in the wild first.
 

Grimlaking

2[H]4U
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
3,130
Well shit on a stick. I suppose I can begin the process of testing in Dev and prep for future... no I can't I have two more new vmware clusters to stand up with their own Vcenter's. So I guess I can do it after I get all of that stood up. *grumbles* Had it been 1 month ago I could be doing all of this with 6.7u2 and not running half my thread count. At least that is going to be temporary.
 

vxspiritxv

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 10, 2001
Messages
1,518
Just finished my home boxes, T630 updated all firmwares then installed via idrac virtual iso. No issues very quick. Then came my old R710 took me 4 hours to get the bios updated (easy FTP mode no longer works) and the bios is larger than a virtual floppy (on iso).
...add it to a linux iso got checksum error.
...booted centos7 live, no network
ended up using hirens.
Then installed esx fresh (because I hacked up the old install playing with things, wanted it fresh) and ran into my next issue adding it to vcenter would error. It would see the SSL cert to accept then error out with unable to connect restart management service kind of message. Turns out just had to disable ipv6. What a PITA.
Bit surprised too, thought they dropped the PERC6i in ESX6.7, apparently not.
Really fast (ignore the PERC, it has NVMe too), really cheap, game server :)

upload_2019-4-28_23-44-28.png

upload_2019-4-28_23-46-30.png
 

bigdogchris

[H]ard as it Gets
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
17,953
I'm currently running 6.0 U2 with a physical vCenter. I really want to move to 6.7 U2 VCSA and update my host to 6.7U2 as well.

All of my guest OSes are listed as either legacy or compatible with 6.7. My backup software is 6.7 U2 compliant. Is there anything else I should be on the look out for?

The only thing I can see is that we occasionally spin up new Cisco VM templates and I read they will not install if the hypervisor is not on their compatibility list (I haven't tested this yet). I'm guessing I could keep an old box around to deploy then just copy over the VM with an external drive or something.
 

Solhokuten

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
1,270
I'm currently running 6.0 U2 with a physical vCenter. I really want to move to 6.7 U2 VCSA and update my host to 6.7U2 as well.

All of my guest OSes are listed as either legacy or compatible with 6.7. My backup software is 6.7 U2 compliant. Is there anything else I should be on the look out for?

The only thing I can see is that we occasionally spin up new Cisco VM templates and I read they will not install if the hypervisor is not on their compatibility list (I haven't tested this yet). I'm guessing I could keep an old box around to deploy then just copy over the VM with an external drive or something.
You probably want to make sure your distributed switches dont need an update before you upgrade to 6.7. Only thing I can think of ATM.
 

FlangeMonkey

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
161
Are people aware VMware dropped the vmklinux driver stack and as of 6.7 U2 only native is supported. This means a lot of older kit without native drivers won't work on u2.
 

somebrains

Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2013
Messages
898
Are people aware VMware dropped the vmklinux driver stack and as of 6.7 U2 only native is supported. This means a lot of older kit without native drivers won't work on u2.
The ISP I contracted with is aware of it, but I got their lead guy a job somewhere else. Whoever replaced him gets to deal with the mish mash of Dell and HP sourced gear.

I hated everything VMware tried after 5.5, it pushed me to working on AWS and K8's.

Jokes on me, VMware material just appeared in the AWS SA Pro exam for 2019. I should have sat the old exam that didn't inject VMware and Block chain ?'s.

I've seen a bunch of guys at the local AWS Loft recently getting up to speed bc they all have hybrid or full on migrations planned for this year.
 
Top