Vista - hidden files and large files issues

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by lappyhappy, Mar 7, 2008.

  1. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Problem 1 - My 100gb laptop harddrive is at almost full capacity but I don't know why. I used a program to find the top 100 largest files, but there's nothing out of the ordinary. I'm wondering if there's some kind of auto-archiving going on that keeps eating up more and more HD space. Suggestions?

    Problem 2 - When I searched for the largest files, it also listed their location path. But when I follow the displayed path (ie - C:\Users\All Users\Apply Computer\Installer Cache....) I can't find the folder "All Users". It doesn't exist.
     
  2. OldMX

    OldMX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,532
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Maybe system restore is eating the space?
     
  3. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Used Shadow Copy Storage space: 956.719 MB
    Allocated Shadow Copy Storage space: 1.172 GB
    Maximum Shadow Copy Storage space: 2.316 GB

    Doesn't seem to be too bad, what do you think? Is approx 2 GB ok for system restore on a 100GB HD?
     
  4. Finn

    Finn Gawd

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Use search there was another Vista user with a similar problem. The problem with Vista is that it takes control away from the user totally. If you buy OEM you're not the administrator of your computer anymore, for an example.

    I can feel your pain for choosing the wrong OS.
     
  5. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Results:

    [​IMG]



    How can the C drive only be taking up 32,141 MB of space and yet when I click "my computer" it shows this?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Finn

    Finn Gawd

    Messages:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Hidden files m8. Hidden files. Vista is taking unprecedented steps of hiding things from users and/or making it difficult to get access to them.

    Take ownership to the whole contents of C: and then set view options to include hidden files. If your box is OEM you don't have ownership to your drive as default.
     
  7. dgingeri

    dgingeri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,830
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    It's probably system restore then. You'll have to adjust the storage limit on that. I kow it takes up about 18GB on my 150GB Raptor. I just happen to have enough space on my machine to afford that.
     
  8. pigster

    pigster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,199
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Rerun Treesize, but this time run as administrator to get a complete report
     
  9. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Try running Disk Cleaner. That should free up a fair amount of space.
     
  10. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Adjusted maxsize to 2GB as follows:

    [​IMG]



    When I open "my computer" I still get this:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Thank you, sir. This did help w/ about a gig. Will use again!
     
  12. Jon855

    Jon855 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    8,139
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Few things to consider...

    System Restore (Disable it)
    Paging file (leave it alone - this can contribute to the problem if u have low amount of RAM)
    Indexing enabled (Disable it)
     
  13. SpaceHonkey

    SpaceHonkey Gawd

    Messages:
    983
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    I think that RRbackups folder is going to be your answer. Google turns up plenty of "where is my hd space" associated with a search for rrbackups.
     
  14. SpaceHonkey

    SpaceHonkey Gawd

    Messages:
    983
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
  15. Mithent

    Mithent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Yes, it seems that the Lenovo backup software is, erm, "intelligent" enough not to worry about filling up all your hard drive space.
     
  16. dgingeri

    dgingeri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,830
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    What you're talking about here is shadowcopy, not system restore. To get to the system restore settings hit the windows key and Pause together to get the system properties, then click the "Advanced System Settings" under tasks on the left. Then click the System Protection tab and uncheck the C: drive. Then click OK. This should delete the system restore information and clear a bunch of space on your hard drive.

    It looks like Vista doesn't allow adjusting the space used by system restore like you can do with XP. I had not known that. you can only turn it on and off.
     
  17. Mithent

    Mithent [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    The Volume Shadow Copy Service is also responsible for System Restore in Vista.

    The problem here is almost certainly the Lenovo backup software.
     
  18. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    We have a winnar!

    Running a Lenovo T61. Went to "uninstall programs" and removed the R&R program. Gee, that just cleared up 70 gigs of HD space. Way to go, Lenovo *rolls eyes
     
  19. dgingeri

    dgingeri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,830
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004

    Holey Schnikies! That's a lot of space to lose to a 'backup' program! I'm glad I don't work with Thinkpads anymore.
     
  20. lappyhappy

    lappyhappy [H]Lite

    Messages:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Yea I was pretty shocked. Though I must say, this T61 is my favorite of all the laptops I've owned. Aside from the issue in this thread it's a solid system that's treated me great. But this R&R issue is unacceptable, not sure what Lenovo was thinking with that one...