Very Strange Problem with 660 GPU

Kuromizu

Gawd
So, I have been using this EVGA 660 3gb for a few months and everything has been going perfectly. I've been really happy with it.

Last night I shut the computer down just like normal. Today, when I turned it on, it just hung during boot. After troubleshooting and testing for a few hours, I found that removing the video card caused everything to boot just fine.

There had been no problems at all previous to this morning.

I run an AMD 1055T CPU, MSI motherboard, 4GB ram, and a 700W OCZ power supply that has run video cards far more power hungry than this one.

Can anyone point to a solution or possible cause at least? It's really sucky to have to be using the onboard video.

Last edited:
I'd RMA the card if you're still within warranty. Otherwise bake it in the oven

So you're saying the card just died randomly like that? It's only 2 months old!

Yeah, many times thats how they go out. You can also try booting the PC (with GPU installed) using a live CD and see if it boots OK.

My laptop GPU went out like that. However it would boot fine until the drivers were loaded then it would hang.

Yeah, many times thats how they go out. You can also try booting the PC (with GPU installed) using a live CD and see if it boots OK.

My laptop GPU went out like that. However it would boot fine until the drivers were loaded then it would hang.