Very strange GPU/PCIe problem

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Binder69, Jul 5, 2019.

  1. Binder69

    Binder69 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Hi, looking for any help, I recently purchased a used GPU, after installation in the PCIe #1 slot I fired it up and didn't get a picture. Weird thing is it works in the 2nd slot, and it will work in the first slot if the 2nd slot is occupied. When it's in the 1st slot and the 2nd slot isn't occupied I don't think the system is booting properly because my Icue software isn't kicking in to control the RGB. The card is a Sapphire RX 590 8G, Asus B450-F MOBO and Ryzen 2600X CPU. Has anyone had this type of problem? Thnaks for any help.
     
  2. Pieter3dnow

    Pieter3dnow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,790
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    I looked on duckduckgo and on the Asus forum https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?107639-Rog-strix-b450-f-gaming

    But I could not find anything. Did you recently upgrade the bios ?
     
  3. rhansen5_99

    rhansen5_99 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,990
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    You might check the card to see if there is a bios toggle switch and if so try the other one on the card. It sounds like it might have a mining buos or something weird. you can also fire up gpuz and cross reference with https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/?did=1002-67DF-1DA2-E366-E1 to see if your running what is expected.

    As noted above update the motherboard while you're at it. Second thing there would be to make sure the pcix stuff is set to auto and it is not trying to do something funky.
     
  4. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,397
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Can you try another board? reset your board's BIOS?
     
  5. thebufenator

    thebufenator [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Why would you think that?

    The symptoms indicate a motherboard issue, not a GPU issue
     
    elite.mafia likes this.
  6. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,731
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Ignoring the post you replied to, a faulty PCI-e lane on the motherboard or gfx card could be at fault.
    Or a bad/dirty connection.
     
  7. rhansen5_99

    rhansen5_99 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,990
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Just more likely because of the recent mining craze and it's used. Honestly in the various cards I have used throughout the years I have not had pcie problems as described, unless I messed up a setting with lane assignment or a bad bios flash, unless the card was not seated correctly.

    I am assuming the previous card worked fine though right op?
     
  8. Yodogs5

    Yodogs5 n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    I actually had a similar issue with my GTX 1080.

    I started getting artifacting, freezes, and crashes last year. When I switched my GPU to the 2nd PCIE slot it started working fine so I was convinced it was my motherboard. About two months ago I began getting the same issues so I tried the GPU in the 1st, 3rd, and 4th slots but the issue persisted. Integrated graphics worked fine so I ended up RMAing the card and so far it has been working fine.

    In my case I didn't have another dedicated GPU to test but if you're able to do that you should because the issue may be with the GPU.
     
  9. viivo

    viivo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,100
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    That the first slot only works when the second is occupied - and thus the first slot operating at x8 rather than x16 - points to an issue with the motherboard and PCI-E lanes. Even though there's basically no difference in performance between x8 and x16, RMAing that board as quickly as possible would be the best bet so you don't run into more issues in the future after the warranty has run out.
     
    Binder69 likes this.
  10. FedericoUY

    FedericoUY n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
  11. Binder69

    Binder69 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Thanks for the effort, turns out the card will only work @ x8, Windows or the BIOS should have automatically dropped it down but didn't. It's the card's issue but from what I've read I shouldn't be able to tell the difference. Thanks again, this is a great forum.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019 at 3:56 PM
  12. Binder69

    Binder69 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Fantastic responses, thanks everyone, turns out the card will only work @ x8, Windows or the BIOS should have automatically dropped it down but didn't. It's the card's issue but from what I've read I shouldn't be able to tell the difference. Great community!
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019 at 3:56 PM
  13. Binder69

    Binder69 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    The first slot works with other GPUs @ x16, you are absolutely correct about it running x8 when slot 2 is occupied and that's why the card will work, it'll only work @ x8. I'm going to use it anyway based on your info about not making much difference in speed. Thanks!
     
  14. FedericoUY

    FedericoUY n00b

    Messages:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Also have read that x8 and x16 does not make that much difference. You can bench that and share real results. Im about to do that with 2x 1080 ti's...