Verizon FIOS - change to other wireless routers?

tpctcn

Limp Gawd
Complete networking noob here.. Hope someone would answer my questions.

So as the title suggests, I am using verizon fios. It's pretty fast, in fact I just did a speedtest and here is the result.
1371427556.png

But I always want more. My laptop has Intel 6300, which supports up to 450Mb. But the Actiontec MI424WR only has 54Mb. It has nice features, but it uses MoCA and connects over coaxial cables, making it unnecessarily harder to use my own router. So I searched online and found tut about how to set the actiontec as a bridge and use your own router. However that leaves me a few questions:

1) Wouldn't that lower the speed of the router of my choice? Say if I get a 450Mb router, but I need to connect it through the port on the Actiontec, which iirc is only 100Mb. Shouldn't that mean that the new router is forced to operate at only 100Mb max?

2) What is FIOS' top speed? I'm not even sure if it can go up to 450Mb.

3) Would this be worth the trouble? I have no problems with this Actiontec currently, the only thing I'm looking for is more speed. Has anyone tried calling Verizon and see if they could switch the connection from coax to CAT5? Doesn't sound free to me.

Anyway, I appreciate in advance for those that would kindly reply.

Do you currently have FiOS TV?
If not you should be able to call Verizon to have the ONT's cat5 port enabled and coax disabled to allow use of your own choice of router.

If on the other hand you DO have FiOS TV you can still buy your choice in wireless router and hook it up to one of the network ports on the actiontec router.
Then setup a DMZ for your new router and use it for your home's network. Use the actiontec as a "guest" network.

Complete networking noob here.. Hope someone would answer my questions.

So as the title suggests, I am using verizon fios. It's pretty fast, in fact I just did a speedtest and here is the result.
1371427556.png