vega 64 crashes unless in power save preset

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by d8lock, Aug 4, 2018.

  1. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    I updated the bios from Asus' site the day I got it. With both cards, actually. They both showed the same problems. And this is a fresh install, in a completely different computer. I will try the secondary bios but I'm not expecting much. Honestly, I probably won't buy an Asus product again.
     
  2. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Amazingly, the second bios seems perfectly stable. Would that indicate that the stock bios is fine (with my system) and the newer bios from their site is the problem? Still need to do more testing. Just excited that something is going right for a change.
     
    erek likes this.
  3. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    It hasn't crashed in balanced mode using this second bios. But it has using the turbo preset. After looking around , this seems to be a widespread issue with these cards. I'm worried the replacement card will be just as awful.
     
  4. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,319
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    i figured it be bios/driver related lol....has a lot to do with gpu voltages the card trys to use...thing is if one of the bios work perfect than end of problem. ill buy it from ya cheap lol
     
  5. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    On the secondary bios I can get it up to +10 power limit and it remains stable. Still a pretty good gaming experience, but it's going back to newegg.
     
  6. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,618
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    If you are indeed having these issues still, you need to reach out to AMD directly and see if you can get a HW engineer to give you a hand. If you can consistently relecate these, then they will definitely take an interest.

    primetime , didn't mean to come off like a dick. I wasn't aware you were saying there was an entire batch of cards that had a bios issue that was causing the driver to react in a way it shouldn't. I misunderstood your statement. I hate using this site on mobile since I am usually rushed when I make a reply. Sorry about that.

    As far as Asus products, I am not and will never a fan despt owning their x370 and now x470 boards. They are great boards but Asus is just trash in every support and warranty issue. I was forced to use their board since I needed 3 PCI-E 16X slots.

    Anyone want s brand new x370 prime sealed in it's box? Lol? Stoee replacement from MC not RMA.
     
  7. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    That an idea, but I'm not waiting past my 30 day replacement window. Taking the card up to fedex today.
     
  8. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Replacement card will be here tomorrow. Glad I ordered it with 1 day shipping originally.
     
  9. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Fedex had an unexpected "service delay" and it has been sitting at a fedex center 2 hours away since this morning. Now all I need is to get struck by lightning and hit by a car. smh
     
  10. d8lock

    d8lock Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    The replacement card works perfectly fine. Such a relief. I didn't take pictures, but I could have sworn the bios switch on the card is reversed. On this one, the right most position is power mode, while the left is quiet mode. It was the other way around (iirc) on the card I sent back.