Using home theatre speakers as comp & HT speakers?

l3r4nd0n

Weaksauce
Hey guys im new to this sorta thing.
I was just wondering how I would go about hooking up the 5.1 home theatre system up to a computer to use for music or whatever, but still use them with the TV for everything?

The receiver is a RX-V540
if that helps.

and the computer is just onboard sound from some crap mobo

any help is greatly appreciated :)

Connect the computer sound to the analog 6 channel input section.

You will have to purchase converters to change the computer miniplugs into full sized RCA plugs - radio shack sells several such items that do this, as would mopst any A/V retailer of any quality in the known universe.

Connect the TV as you would normally.

so i wont need a 5.1 sound card or anything?

and would it be possible for me to get a link to these converters? just so i know exactly what to look for when i go shopping

Originally posted by l3r4nd0n

and would it be possible for me to get a link to these converters? just so i know exactly what to look for when i go shopping

No the reciver will handle your surround, you can use any type of sound card cause you only need 2 signals coming from your card, left and right. Correct me if i wrong.

You will need a single minijack (Mini headphones) into 2 RCA, plug the minijack into your sound card front speaker out and the 2 RCA go into the reciever input.

Yes, yes you will, if you want 5.1 output from your reciever.
Otherwise you can send it out as stereo if that's all the onboard supports, which is unlikely.

The vast majority of onboard audio solutions these days are 5.1, but it is possible yours isn't. Since you didn't bother to list your board model or the CODEC it uses, I can't tell you if yours is.

Check which CODEC it is and the connection options listed in the drivers.

I thought his reciver would handly the surround. So he will have 3 inputs into the reciver?

Originally posted by Highlife