Using DP and HDMI cause issues?

Evil Scooter

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 22, 2000
Messages
2,780
Been window shopping video cards from both AMD and NV. One thing I've noticed on many of the AMD offerings is they only have 2 DP ports and usually 1 HDMI. I'm running 3 OMEN monitors in surround... would I have any issues running 2 on DP and 1 on HDMI?
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,015
The only thing is DP is 165Hz and HDMI is 144Hz max .. so 144Hz would be your max I would think ...

I have a RX 570 8Gb that I am using DP 3 to run my display at 1080p 165Hz .. this video card has 3 DP and 1 HDMI .. so it should run all 3 of your displays via DP I would think .. So there are AMD cards that exist with 3 Display Ports and 1 HDMI .
 

Evil Scooter

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 22, 2000
Messages
2,780
The only thing is DP is 165Hz and HDMI is 144Hz max .. so 144Hz would be your max I would think ...

I have a RX 570 8Gb that I am using DP 3 to run my display at 1080p 165Hz .. this video card has 3 DP and 1 HDMI .. so it should run all 3 of your displays via DP I would think .. So there are AMD cards that exist with 3 Display Ports and 1 HDMI .

Thanks 4 reply, there are AMD cards with 3 DP's... but availability is making those very scarce. I'm seeing the regular ones with 2 DP and 1 HDMI pop up on local CL.
 

Wat

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
157
Unless you are pushing the limits of resolution or refresh rate,
There is no problem using both. I do it all the time
 

Evil Scooter

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 22, 2000
Messages
2,780
^^ Nope.. 60hz monitors. I'm thinking I'd be ok just using a HDMI to DP adapter so all 3 monitors are still using the DP port.
 

robijito123

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 2, 2021
Messages
116
I would think if you use an active dport to hdmi 2.0 adapter you should be fine, but I have run into weird issues with HP monitors at 1440p and running that correctly at 60p with generic adapters.
 

crazycrave

Gawd
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
1,015
Check out Club 3D on Amazon .. I have one of there units that allows 4K 60Hz on the R9 - 290x
 

Evil Scooter

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 22, 2000
Messages
2,780
^^ You would "think" with an active adapter it'd be no issue... but I've run into it before.. especially when using a KVM to boot.

crazycrave.. but I'm looking at the upgrade market and pickin's is thin to be kind. Many of the stock AMD cards have 2 DP and 1HDMI only.
 
Top