Upgrading OS, help me to decide and how to proceed

TheLostOne

n00b
Hello friends

I am running a 32bit XP Pro with SP3. As I use lot of graphics programs, I was wondering whether it would be prudent to upgrade to a 64bit version, and if yes, to XP 64bit or Win7 64bit. Please note I have been using this installation of XP for last 5 years or so. Regarding this, please clear my following doubts.

1. I have about 3GB of RAM (planning to add more as graphics editing programs are very much RAM intensive). So will a 64bit OS operate better than a 32bit? And shall the programs run faster?

. In case of upgrading to 64bit, will XP PRo 64bit a better choice or Windows 7 64bit?

3. Can I transfer my settings from my present system to the new one? Mainly I am worried about the Browser (Firefox and Chrome). I can not afford to loose the settings.

4. In case some programs do not have 64bit versions available (I use some free programs which do not offer 64bit) can I still use the 32bit version?

5. I have heard that Win gradually takes up space on the installation partition. Is that true? If yes, is there any solution to this?

6. If it is better to upgrade to 32bit XP to 64bit Win7 or XP, please let me know how exactly should I proceed. Sadly I can not afford to loose much time over setting up my system. I would like to upgrade via the least hassle free way (preferably without a clean install, unless that is absolutely necessary).

Thank you.

64bit OS allows you to utilize more than 3.5gb of RAM. 32bit caps you at 3.5 gb of RAM, so if you stay with a 32bit OS, your RAM upgrade will be pretty much useless. No, programs will usually not benefit speed-wise from a 32-bit vs 64-bit OS as long as everything else remains the same and the programs are not RAM-limited.

Many programs might not be compatible with 64-bit Windows XP, while there's a higher likelihood of being compatible with 64-bit Windows 7. You need to check with the specific programs you use to ensure compatibility.