Upgrading from 8800GTS 320MB to...

Tsuyashu

Limp Gawd
Well originally my main card was an BFG 7900GT 256mb, back when it was worth around 250$. That died after perhaps 2-3years and I turned it in to BFG and got the 8800GTS 320mb.

After another 2-3 years, it is time to move on from the 8800GTS. I was hoping people could give me some recommendations on video cards? I am an animator and work with various editing programs and hopefully get into things like Cinema 4d and Maya and all that jazz.. I am also a gamer and I have an 24in monitor.

I was looking at the 5850 from ATI, any comments?

I think the 5850 is definitely worth every penny, faster than the more expensive GTX 285 when it comes to gaming for sure. I don't do any animation/rendering, so I've no input for that end of it.

The 5850 is a great bang/buck card and will be a huge improvement over your 8800gts. The hard part will be finding it.

Assuming I hit the jackpot, which brands are the best? Since I happen to be green since forever?

I recognize ASUS, XFX and thats all.

I have a Sapphire one, I managed to grab from amazon at release before they jacked the prices up 15 to 20%. It's great, but they're all made by ATI this run anyway, then rebranded.

Sapphire's warranty is only 2 years, but it's what was available. If you can find an xfx or an HIS they have lifetime warranties I believe, do that.

Good luck with your upgrade.

I've read on a deals site that Saphire does not have the power saving features of other companies (talking about the 57**)? I dono myself and would not mind a confirmation or otherwise.

OP - yes, the 5850 looks like a great one... and yes - right now I can not see any avaliable in the uK at least. :p

[L]imey;1034967691 said:
I have a Sapphire one, I managed to grab from amazon at release before they jacked the prices up 15 to 20%. It's great, but they're all made by ATI this run anyway, then rebranded.