UNIX: how do I completely wipe out a hard disk?

rlee

Gawd
I'm a total newbie to UNIX and I'm wondering what is the best way to completely wipe out a hard disk? For example, for a windows system, what I would do is just delete all partitions to completely wipe out the disk. I researched on google for quite some time and I'm coming across this "dd" command, but I'm not exactly sure if thats what I'm suppose to use. Any help would be appreciated. Oh yea this will be done on a solaris sparc20 system.

dd is for copying, just use fdisk like you would in a windows system to remove partitions and such.

deuce868 said:
dd is for copying, just use fdisk like you would in a windows system to remove partitions and such.

how do i use the fdisk command?

i tried fdisk /dev/rdsk/c0t3d0
but it says cannot stat device /dev/rdsk/c0t3d0
also tried fdisk /dev/hda but i get the same message

also when i enter the format utility,
i get a warning saying:
[disk unformatted]
Warning: error writing VTOC
Warning: no backup labels
Write label failed

Since the disk is unformatted, I tried formatting it, but I left it on over night and after 15+ hours, it was still going so i decided to shut it down.

How wiped out do you want it? You can just use fdisk to get rid of any partitions, just as you would on Windows (the Linux fdisk is way more powerful). If you do this, the data still exists on your hard disk, but it's harder to get to. If you just want to wipe the system to do a re-install, then fdisk is the way to go.

If you want to erase the data because you're getting rid of the drive then fdisk is the wrong way to go. You can use 'dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/hda' to write "0" across the entire hard drive. All your data is then replaced with 0. You might need to change /dev/hda to the device file for your hard disk.

bdavids1 said: