Unable to connect to Windows Home Server after update

deadlift1

[H]ard|Gawd
I've been running a WHS v1 box for 7 years and it has run perfectly up until this morning. There was an update done last night. After this update I can no longer connect via the home server console or remote desktop. The server does appear on my network. I can ping it and it returns the following:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping familyserver

Pinging familyserver [192.168.1.16] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.16: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.16:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Any ideas?

Mods - please move if this belongs in another forum.

Can't connect via domain name or IP address?

First thing I'd try doing is a ipconfig /flushdns

I can't connect via either domain name or ip address.

I just did the DNS flush. Still can't connect.

Try to telnet to 389 to see if the port is open. RDP might have turned off or a firewall rule was changed.

Did you reboot the server to see if it resolves the issue?

Yes I restarted it 3 times. No luck.

Try to telnet to 389 to see if the port is open. RDP might have turned off or a firewall rule was changed.

Tried this. This is the message I got:

Connecting To 389...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed

Connecting To 389...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Connect failed

He missed a 3. Should be 3389. Can you attach a monitor and KB/M?

it's 3389, and to telnet you would need to:
Code:
telnet familyserver 3389

it's 3389, and to telnet you would need to:
Code:
telnet familyserver 3389

Thanks for updating that port. Here is what I am getting now:

Microsoft Telnet> o familyserver 3389
Connecting To familyserver...Could not open connection to the host, on port 3389
: Connect failed
Microsoft Telnet>