UAC and Networking.

bigstusexy

2[H]4U
I've been banging my brains out for the past couple of days of why I can't connect to admin shares on my vista box (and win7) I already figured out the nt lanman issue with 2000 from them to 2000 but I couldn't access shares from xp to vista or win7. I just now turned off UAC on vista and... it works. I'm going to do the same for win7 soon.

However in the interest of security how am I supposed to network this with UAC on, to legacy clients?

What I was running into was that even though I am an administrator with a password, I couldn't rely on my Membership in the administrator group to allow my access, when I made a test share I had to add my account, adding administrators did not work.

In a mixed OS environment (XP, Vista, 7) i always disable UAC, just to much of a time waster and pain in the butt.

I just built an entire network with Win 7 and server 2008 r2, in which case, UAC has not been an issue

If you notice this also applied when you are at the computer itself. If you try to access a folder that only has ntfs permissions for the administrator group and not the users group you will get a uac prompt that will in turn give you read access to your user account. And to prove this you can try running explorer elevated and you will get no prompts and have full access.

EDIT: I just tried this and I can not reproduce your problem, I have no problem accessing shares across all platforms. Even when the users group does not exit. Though the local example still applies.

Last edited:
I wonder if this is because one of the clients is windows 2000 server, there is no domain its a work group but I sure as heck can't figure it out.

I still haven't switched off UAC on win7 but here are something tests I've tried

vista to win7 No
win7 to vista No (I think yes after UAC is off)
vista to Xp Yes
win7 to Xp Yes
Win7 to 2k Yes (after I configured LM and NTLM send and recieve)