Two Online security questions, can you track my location!?

Operaghost

[H]ard|Gawd
Ok first of all.

I've installed some online anonymity programs, and I'm curious how well they are working.
Can anyone here figure out my general location?

Is there a website that will run a trace on me and tell me where it looks like I'm coming from?

Secondly,

I signed up on this new forum today and it said it has encrypted pm's. But that there is a key stored on thier server, and then a passphrase key stored on mine.

So I enter a passphrase, and it then tells me I have to download the key and store it safely on my computer. And to back it up to disk. That it is currently residing on thier server and the "completion" of the encryption won't be until I download and store the key, thus deleting it from thier servers.

Now, I'm a total noob when it comes to secutiry and encryption and such. Does this sound normal? I'm skeptic because well this forum's subject matter is a bit illegal depending on where you live, so I'm a little skeptic about matching something on thier server to my computer. That basically links me to them if they ever get subpeoned by authorities right?
Or is this normal and sounds legit? I want to have safe encrypted PM's on thier site if this is standard procedure, but if it sounds a little fishy, then perhaps its best I not worry about encrypted pm's?

Well, usually on forum software, the software stores your IP address. As just like the software we are speaking on right now, if you are a Mod or Admin of this site, (if the settings allowed) they would see your IP address with each post.

Now whether or not someone can track your entire location based on your IP address, I am not to sure, I am sure someone can fill in that gap.

Forum software with encryption keys? I have actually never heard of that before, but it seems like an interesting idea.