Two LAN networks on one computer

Legrand68

n00b
First off, I'm not new here, but I haven't posted in a long time and I can't access my old account (forgot PW and don't have access to old e-mail account). Also, I'm not that good with networking issues. I've messed with computers & hardware for a long time (20 years), but don't really deal with networking hardware.

So here's the deal: I have a couple of 3D printers at work and the controller I installed on them has the ability to have a networked connection with which you can control the printers via a web interface. This controller only has a wired connection, no wifi on it. I wanted to install a wifi module and run it in client mode to hook up to the intranet at work, but IT is having none of that, too concerned about security. I can't even begin to understand this ridiculousness, but, whatever.

I can't install a wired connection to the intranet either, because there's no infrastructure (i.e. open ports) any where near me, and they won't run a cable to the networking room (probably a few hundred feet). They want an outside company to come in and run the line, which would be thousands of dollars. Not worth it.

My solution was to bring in an old router I had lying around at home, specifically a D-Link DIR-655. I have the 3D printers plugged into this router which I can then also plug into my computer via a USB to Ethernet adaptor. I can then use the web interface to manage and run the 3D printers. I don't have admin rights on my computer, so IT had to install the driver for that adaptor.

My problem is that when I plug in the router to my computer, I lose my internet connection on my computer. I can still access the intranet, the company servers, e-mail still works, etc. but the internet is lost. The instant I unplug the router, the internet returns once again.