Trying to follow this pwm fan controller guide...

Hey, I'm kinda a noob to electronics. I've been doing a lot of reading, but more complicated things like IC's in a circuit are still rather overwhelming.

Anyway, I want to build this PWM circuit here: http://casemods.pointofnoreturn.org/pwm/circuit3.html.

Now, I'm also a noob to matching electronic parts (specifically IC's). I wanna try to get everything locally at radioshack if possible since shipping usually kills any decent buys online.

Is this the same as the uA741P op-amp as described in the guide? http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog_name=CTLG&product_id=276-007. If not, why and where can I find out?

Oh, another thing - I would like to modify the circuit so I can use 2 or 3 total pots to regulate different fans. How would I go about doing this? Would I need to use one IC for each pot?

Thanks.

EDIT: Is there also anything at radioshack that will work instead of a 2n222 transistor? I can't seem to find that one...

I might actually go with this guide instead due to simplicity and the fact that I want 2 or 3 different channels. If I go with this, I can simply make 2 or 3 different linear circuits. http://casemods.pointofnoreturn.org/vregtut/tutorial-full.html

The downside with this is I need a heatsink to dissipate at least 6.12 watts on each regulator (since this is the input power on the 120mm U1A). Is a linear regulator impractical at this point?

Is this the same as the uA741P op-amp as described in the guide? http://www.radioshack.com/product.a...ct_id=276-007. If not, why and where can I find out?

That should would fine.
The *NC is national's suffixes, N is the package type (DIP) and C is the grade, rated for slightly lower supply votlage (+/-18V instead of 22) and temerature range (0-70 instead of -50-125C), neither of which should cause you any troubles.