Too many audio issues

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,110
so I have a fiio K1 usb dac that was giving me a crackling sound in WoW classic and game menus like BF5 and fortnite. I moved it a couple feet away with a longer usb cable. didn't fix it.

now I have a Creative Sound BlasterX G1 7.1 usb dac. first, I couldn't get the drivers to install. I was getting this error:
https://www.tenforums.com/attachments/sound-audio/256813d1574835019t-sound-blasterx-kratos-s5-requires-interactive-workstation-error.png?s=0660ac150acdcfd97092a341770d78e5

different product in the screen shot but same error message. I even extracted the drivers from the creative driver/software package and told windows where to get the driver. I finally got the driver installed by using safe mode.

so the problem I'm at now is the audio is really low on this sound blaster. I maxed the windows volume, and wmp volume. its sorta high. if I did that with the fiio, it would have been the equivalent of 30% probably. if I maxxed the volume on the fiio, I would destroy my hearing. thats how much lower the sound blaster is. I maxed windows volume and the volume in BF5 and audio was not loud enough. something is wrong.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,110
Speakers? Headset? Model?
so I just did a chat with creative. they had me set the software to high gain which is 64-300 ohm. this fixed the problem. but caused a little hissing. he said it could damage my headphones. so I switched it back to normal gain which is 16-64 ohm and the volume is still almost as loud. I think the software was buggy. my headphones are 32 ohm. philips shp9500s

my fiio k1 was 16-100 ohm. hope I didn't damage anything with it on the high gain setting for a few minutes.

the volume level still is way lower than the fiio k1. with the K1 I had windows volume set to 30 and BF5 ingame volume set to 44. now with the G1 windows volume is set to 100 and ingame set to 40 which seems to be the equivalent volume level to the K1.
 
Last edited:

B00nie

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
8,171
Check if your motherboard has a setting for 'high precision timer' and try disabling it to see if the crackling goes away.
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,110
Check if your motherboard has a setting for 'high precision timer' and try disabling it to see if the crackling goes away.
thanks, but it didn't fix it. so this sound blaster software has 2 settings, normal gain and high. when I turn on my pc the normal gain is selected, but the volume is low. if I click on normal gain it goes higher. I have to do this every time I start my pc or if I return it from sleep mode. I basically have to select the setting its already showing it on to actually set it. the volume level difference between "unactivated" and normal gain is probably 30%. this soundblaster goes no where near as high as the fiio, which I don't really understand. I can max the volume on normal gain and its probably as loud as I'd want to listen to. however on the fiio the volume level max I could listen to would be like 30%.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

travm

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
435
Unfortunate, could be many things, poor grounding somewhere inside your PC, dirty power, right up to defective card.
It most likely includes software and hardware to try and detect the resistance of the connected speakers and set the gain appropriately. It may be a bug in software or hardware that's making this not work right.
Is this a fresh install?
 

Gabe3

2[H]4U
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
3,110
Unfortunate, could be many things, poor grounding somewhere inside your PC, dirty power, right up to defective card.
It most likely includes software and hardware to try and detect the resistance of the connected speakers and set the gain appropriately. It may be a bug in software or hardware that's making this not work right.
Is this a fresh install?
are you referring to my last post or original one? my original isn't really an issue anymore.
 
Top