Too low Voltages??

Breath_of_the_Dying

[H]ard|Gawd
Hi guys, I was wondering if it would be bad to have too low voltages. I'm new to OC and did some tinkering with settings, and they seem to be low compared to what I've been reading online.

Here's what I have
Asus P6T SE
Core i7 920 (D0 stepping)
Corsair XMS3 6gb (3x2gb) DDR3-1600
Zalman 9900 CNPS cooling
AS5 thermal paste
Win7 Pro
CoolerMaster HAF922 (with 2 more 120mm fans on the side).

Using the ASUS corevoltage program, here's what I've set things to.
CPU voltage: 1.187
DRAM Voltage: 1.56
QPI/DRAM Voltage: 1.2 (as low as it can go)
BCLK Freq: 190
Multiplier: x20 (so 3.8)

I haven't done extensive testing, but Prime95 ran at least 15 min without issues. In that short time, the temps seem to hover around 70c on the hottest core.

Another thing, I'm noticing my core0 and core1 temps are around 4-6 degrees hotter than core2 and core3. Is that normal? I'm thinking there's a bubble in the thermal paste, but want to know if thats normal before applying paste.

Hi guys, I was wondering if it would be bad to have too low voltages. I'm new to OC and did some tinkering with settings, and they seem to be low compared to what I've been reading online.

The lower the better (lower temps, longer theoretical CPU lifespan). Running below spec voltages won't hurt the components, but it can cause instability. If its stable then be happy. :)

I haven't played with any I7 hardware yet so I can't comment on your specific settings.

Another thing, I'm noticing my core0 and core1 temps are around 4-6 degrees hotter than core2 and core3. Is that normal?
That's normal in my experience. Core 0 gets a bit more use than the other cores, so the area around core 0 (including core 1) gets a few degrees hotter.

Thanks for the info. It seems I spoke to soon, 3.8 became unstable once every few hours at that voltage. However, 3.6ghz is running pretty (so far) at 1.175v.

voltages.png