Three monitors - What do you use them for?

asr10 user

n00b
I already had two monitors, just bought a matching third because it was on sale. Now I am having regret. Besides gaming, what does everyone use three monitors or more for?

I do music once in a while, so I can see it being useful there. But besides stocks and post production, do people really use three monitors for regular use? If so can I have some ideas?

I am a software developer and had 3 monitors at my previous job. 19", 24", 24". It was a database driven C# web app so I would keep Visual Studio in the middle, SQL Server Management Studio on the right monitor, and a browser with the app open on the left. It was nice to be able to work in both code bases and see the app all at the same time.

At home I just run 2x24" as I have never found a use for a third.

For normal usage:
Monitor 1: Web Browser
Monitor 2: Whatever TV show or movie I'm watching. If I'm doing research or trying to compare something, this becomes another web browser window.
Monitor 3: Notepad++ for when I write forum posts as well as any PDFs I might be reading at the time.

I use to have a 4th monitor but that died. When I had the 4th monitor and did modding for FNV, my setup was:
Monitor 1: Original or source model in NifSkope or texture in GIMP
Monitor 2: Modded model in NifSkope or texture in GIMP
Monitor 3: FNV GECK modding program
Monitor 4: Whatever TV show or movie I'm watching or any FNV modding tutorial I need to refresh my memory with.

Really missing that 4th monitor.

4 x cheapie 22" AoC monitors off 1 7850 in a square config.

Top left - Desktop / Music / Toolbars / Shortcuts / Folders
Top right - Web browser / Powerpoints / Word documents
Bottom right - Dev Apps
Bottom left - Dev Apps

I hate minimizing and moving things around. It limits my productivity.