Thermal compound + oil

CyborgTMT

n00b
I've got an issue and, after being a visitor here for years, figured this would be the best place to ask. I'm currently building a submerged pc using mineral oil. The problem is my Arctic Silver I used happens to be oil based. I now have a lovely grey pile below my cpu/heatsink. Fortunately this is only a test build using older parts to work out things like this. I've tested every thermal compound in the house, but all 'melt' away when placed in oil. Anyone have a good option to use for this?

-thanks

The Puget system used Arctic Silver also. I've been using this system for a couple of months now and the temperatures on the CPU are slowly rising under load. When I first built it I ran a 24hr stress test and the temp never climbed over 48C. Now after just a few hours of gaming I'm in the high 50s. Still acceptable, but I plan on overclocking for the final build and need better heat transfer.

Actually, we didn't use Artic Silver. We used the thermal pad on the heatsink, no additional paste added...because if you add paste, it ends up floating around in the tank or in a big glop at the bottom of the aquarium.

Jon Bach posted that Arctic Silver was used, which was part of my reason for using it myself at first. I lap both the heat sink and the spreader on the CPU so I use very little TIM anyway in my builds. Even so, what was there is now gone. I pulled the tower off and only a very small bit of a grey stain remains. I've tested a stock pad on an old 939 stock heat sink and it melts away too. Looks like I'm going to have to check out pastes that are use for applications other that PCs.

Some pics if interested
http://forums.7thes.com/index.php?showtopic=2812

I'm redoing the outside wood work since the 'stainable' filler failed to mention that it stained purple!

You don't need (and should'nt use) TIM in a submersion based computer.

Lapping would be good , but probably isnt required.