The memory I bought, was it a good choice?

Chowder Head

Limp Gawd
I know it sounds bad I'm asking these questions after I bought it but a lot of people are using more expensive pieces.

The ram I got is the Corsair Value Select 2X512mb. Now I know there are better units out there but is it okay for me? I'm new to overclocking anything in general and was looking for a new piece that wasn't too expensive. And since it's a gig, I bought it.

Do you guys think I'll be fine with this? I plan to download media, transfer files and such, upload pictures, and of course, surf the net. Is the brand I got fine? I know Corsairs have problems with DFI mobos, so I'm covered there.

I see all these brands like Gskill and the Corsair XMS and was wondering the differences when compared to the Value Memory. I still have the RAM in the orginally box so if need be, I can sell this on ebay and pick up something "better"

Thanks for any replies, it's appreciated. :)

Yes. That RAM is excellent. You should have no issues whatsoever.

Chowder Head said:
Is the brand I got fine? I know Corsairs have problems with DFI mobos, so I'm covered there.

First, thanks for buying Corsair.

Second, we test almost all our DDR1 modules on two boards: The Asus A8N-SLI and the DFI NF4 Ultra-D, as of yet, I haven't seen any of these "problems with DFI boards" that seem to be so prevalent on dfi-street. It really puzzles me because I have not been able to duplicate any of these things in the lab, and we've tried and tried.

I believe now that the perception of a problem between Corsair and DFI boards is just that, perception, and not reality. Not 3 feet from me is a 4400 module being screened on a DFI NF4 SLI-DR for test purposes.

But to answer your original question: Yes, I think you made a good choice. But then again, I'm biased.

Stuff runs great for stock systems. You can do light overclocking and/or throw on a divider...