Technical folks, ever felt sick of technical books?

DaturaX

Weaksauce
Hey technical folks out there,

Anyone of you in a similar position as I am? I work as a Network Engineer in a Systems Integrator company. CCNA and am pursuing my CCNP. Lately, I have been getting sick of technical books and just can't seem to read more than 1 page of it at one go. books like BSCI and that is discounting technical manuals and knowledge base I gotta go through at work.

I need some motiviation to get me started on my CCNP certification.

I prefer hands on, learn how to do it with some equipment if possible rather than just reading the book front to back.

It depends on who wrote the book to me. If it's all hammered details it can easily get old quick. I have a linux administration book that was so well written that I think Iread it front to back without skipping anything.

Then again ive had books that make you want to scopp your eyes out.

DaturaX said:

Anyone of you in a similar position as I am? I work as a Network Engineer in a Systems Integrator company. CCNA and am pursuing my CCNP. Lately, I have been getting sick of technical books and just can't seem to read more than 1 page of it at one go. books like BSCI and that is discounting technical manuals and knowledge base I gotta go through at work.

I dont do networking for a living, just as a hobby. But I feel about the same. Maybe im just not a hard-core geek anymore, or possibly I have a short attention span. But those damned CCNA books, I cant stand to read more than a few pages before ive got a burning urge to throw the book down (or out the window). It is the most dry, boring material ive ever come across. I read through 2 automotive encyclopedias printed in the 1970s, and I managed to read those things front to back without any loss of interest.

I can read about the most nerdy crap on the internet, and do it all day long. Just something about the CCNA material... :(