Taiyo Yuden Valueline 8X DVD-R Blank Media -- 200x $42.49 (shipped)

I've never used their valueline stuff before, but their premium line is all I use for my backup needs.

Their premium is practically guaranteed TY02 media. Valueline on the other hand is a mixture of all their media (which isn't a bad thing technically but can be a hit-or-miss in my opinion).

Their premium is practically guaranteed TY02 media. Valueline on the other hand is a mixture of all their media (which isn't a bad thing technically but can be a hit-or-miss in my opinion).

It's been a couple of years since I've bought any media (bought 600 TY01 Value's, got a great deal), so it could've changed. If it's anything like it was, you'd be a fool to spend more money on anything else. Even a mix of TY is a great thing. It's not like TY01 can't be burned at 8x, and you might even be able to get away with 12x on a great burner....

Why? What makes a CD better than the other?

I get no burn errors whatsoever, so thats a big deal. and a lot of the time you can burn at a higher speed than the dvd is rated for if you get high quality dvds. My friend bought some best buy dvds and he gets burn errors all the time even burning at 4x

also, certain dvd players cannot play different brands of dvds. TY work in most that I've seen

I get no burn errors whatsoever, so thats a big deal. and a lot of the time you can burn at a higher speed than the dvd is rated for if you get high quality dvds. My friend bought some best buy dvds and he gets burn errors all the time even burning at 4x

also, certain dvd players cannot play different brands of dvds. TY work in most that I've seen

So I know this really have nothing to do with the topic at hand, but every time you said "burn" I read it as bum.

Wrong. Completely wrong. a) This is -R media, with the MID TYG02. b) These are going to be the same MID, made in Japan. How is it a mix?

I'd personally spend the little extra for their mainstream "premium" line.