System to display 16k resolution stills?

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by Zangmonkey, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. Zangmonkey

    Zangmonkey I Realize My Disabilities - You Do Too

    Messages:
    7,047
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    In looking at displaying a slide show of 8k native resolution stills in 2x2 4k monitors.
    Depending on viability I might want to try even more, like 4x4 4k

    Academically I know that the high end GPU hardware are capable of this but I don't know how the software works.

    Has anybody set something like this up before?

    Can I just use eyefinity SLS? Not sure if that will be happy with 4x4k monitors? Will windows be fine with it?
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2018
  2. JRUHg

    JRUHg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    370
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    2x2 4k monitors is 8K
     
  3. Zangmonkey

    Zangmonkey I Realize My Disabilities - You Do Too

    Messages:
    7,047
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Ok. My bad.
     
  4. JRUHg

    JRUHg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    370
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    its 4x4 is 16k
     
  5. Zangmonkey

    Zangmonkey I Realize My Disabilities - You Do Too

    Messages:
    7,047
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Understood. My question still stands though. Can I SLS 2x2 4k? What about 4x4? 2x3?
     
  6. JRUHg

    JRUHg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    370
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    nvidia has special qudro for 8x 30hz 4k monitors. NVIDIA NVS 810

    Software as asked: Nvidia mosaic (quadro) or nvidia surround is up to 5 monitors

    nvidia supports up to 4x monitors for one GPU.

    amd has
    up to six for 30hz @ 4k. new models supports up to 4K @ 60hz.

    up to :wacky:

    how about this one? nvidia supports
    up to 8 gpus :wacky:

     
  7. JRUHg

    JRUHg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    370
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    windows is fine as u can see.

    amd eyefinity: displayport hub is needed for card that has only 3xDP and hdmi 2.0/1.4.
     
  8. Zangmonkey

    Zangmonkey I Realize My Disabilities - You Do Too

    Messages:
    7,047
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    What's important to me is that windows recognizes it as single large display. Output format isn't so important because I have access to professional active adapters, transparent to the source.