Stuff for HTPC

Vinnard

Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
681
I initially asked if :

We have comcast cable at my house with a ton of channels (1-999). Is there a tv tuner card that will allow me to watch them all? I've read that I can't use ppv, and that is no problem.
Thanks in advance!

And apparently I can't get a cablecard, so would a regular tv tuner help me watch my cable on my computer?
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,671
Oh, you'll need to go from the STB to a capture card to input them into the PC (possibly firewire too).
 

Javabri

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 14, 2008
Messages
106
How about adding sources for content.
ABC
http://abc.go.com/

ABC Family
http://abcfamily.go.com/abcfamily/pa...Home/page_Home

NBC
http://www.nbc.com/

CBS
http://www.cbs.com/

Fox
http://www.fox.com/

The WB (Warner Bros. TV)
http://www.thewb.com/

The CW
http://www.cwtv.com/cw-video/

PBS
http://www.pbs.org/video/

CNN Podcasts
http://www.cnn.com/services/podcasting/

ESPN 360
http://sports.espn.go.com/broadband/espn360/index

TBS
http://www.tbs.com/video/index/#/all...full-episodes/

USA Network
http://www.usanetwork.com/fullepisodes/

Lifetime Network
http://www.mylifetime.com/on-tv/show...e-1/1842745638

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
http://www.thedailyshow.com/full-epi...isodeId=215267

The Colbert Report
http://www.comedycentral.com/colbert...isodeId=213774

FX Networks
http://www.fxnetworks.com/#

Discovery Channel / TLC
http://video.discovery.com/

Military Channel
http://military.discovery.com/video/video-hq.html

HG TV
http://www.hgtv.com/full-episodes/package/index.html

Hallmark Channel
http://www.hallmarkchannel.com/publi...umer/home.html

E! Channel
http://www.eonline.com/videos/index.jsp

MTV
http://www.mtv.com/videos/

VH1
http://www.vh1.com/video/full_episodes.jhtml

Cartoon Network
http://www.cartoonnetwork.com/video/

Nickelodean
http://www.nick.com/turbonick/index....atewayid=86182

Disney Channel
http://disney.go.com/videos/#/videos/tvshows/

The N-Channel
http://www.the-n.com/

Spike TV
http://www.spike.com/network/spike (mouse over shows on menu bar and full episodes are on left side)

Sci Fi Channel
http://www.scifi.com/rewind/

TNT TV
http://www.tnt.tv/dramavision/?cid=39824

My Network TV
http://www.mynetworktv.com/

TV.com
http://www.tv.com/video/?tag=nav_top;videos

3rd party content aggregators. Lots of original programming and syndicated rerun stuff along with some movies.

Crackle
http://www.crackle.com/

Hulu
http://www.hulu.com/

MSN TV
http://tv.msn.com/

Fancast
http://www.fancast.com

Veoh
http://www.veoh.com/

Independent Web Content (Podcasts, etc.)

Revision 3
http://revision3.com/

Joost
http://www.joost.com

Anime
http://www.crunchyroll.com/
 

krupted

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 23, 2006
Messages
3,244
i think auto rip n compress should be added to this list. after trying it out, its outstanding. dvdfab and handbrake work together to make ripping dvd's (and should bluray as well) easier then it ever has been. i went from not wanting to deal with real bluray discs to looking at sales on bd-combo drives now that backups would be a snap.
 

CrimandEvil

Dick with a heart of gold
Joined
Oct 22, 2003
Messages
19,671
Yeah, I'm not going to update this at all any more. Mods, just let it die.
 

ben chi(f4)

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
2,338
what media player are you guys using? I want to use win 7 but would like a nice interface to my TV when browsing movies
 

Xonim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
1,035
I agree with 7MC and Media Browser. That's what I use, simply because I need the LiveTV functionality of 7MC.

If you're only browsing movies and have no interest in live tv with a tv tuner, you could also check out XBMC. That's probably what I'd be using if it was stored movies/tv only.
 

jboozy

n00b
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
52
what media player are you guys using? I want to use win 7 but would like a nice interface to my TV when browsing movies
xbmc is a nice, highly customizable media center. and you can seamlessly use either its internal player or an external one for playback. i use xbmc + mpc-hc.
 

Nethel

n00b
Joined
Dec 13, 2004
Messages
46
Easiest way I've found is to set up the remote as an MCE Keyboard in the Logitech software. That way you can assign the buttons to a keypress on a keyboard.

There's a list of XBMC keyboard shortcuts here.

You can also get more involved, editing the keymaps.xml and such but try that out and if you need more there are a lot of resources out there.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
15
Easiest way I've found is to set up the remote as an MCE Keyboard in the Logitech software. That way you can assign the buttons to a keypress on a keyboard.

There's a list of XBMC keyboard shortcuts here.

You can also get more involved, editing the keymaps.xml and such but try that out and if you need more there are a lot of resources out there.
thanks will give it a go
 

bebble

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
127
Thanks for collecting this stuff. But any doc/page on how to build a android media center (if buying an android tv is not an option).
 

valve1138

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
10,407
Whos the mod here anyways? I suppose they should be contacted with some sort of idea on what thread should be up top.
 

Oldie

Mean Old Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
21,812
Hey guys, I'm not the designated HTPC mod but I LOVE me some HTPC (I've got 3 in my house) and would be happy to help out. Since the top post hasn't been updated since 2010 I would agree we can kill it. I'll desticky it now and look at the others as well.
 
Top