Student: Best way to get Win XP or Vista?

semisonic9

Gawd
Heya.

I'm planning on building my own rig in the next month or so. One problem I'm having is the major shell-game windows seems to be playing with it's operating systems.

The upgrade is one price, the full version is another. I'm a student, I hear rumors that we can get a pretty big discount? But when I went to my University's bookstore to check prices, they were equal or only slightly less than everywhere else (best buy, e-tailers, etc). Then I'm hearing "buy the student XP for like $20, and then upgrade to Vista!", etc.

This is the first time I haven't bought from a vendor, with the OS already included, so I'm growing a bit short on patience with the "hide the numbers" game.

I've even had people recommend I download it illegally and then use the cheaper "get legal" option for updates. I hate to say it, but if I think it'll save me $50, I may even do that. *shrug* No, I don't need you to tell me where. I'm a sort-of tech-savvy student, I know where to obtain files illegally, thankya very much.

I think this kind of crap may drive me over to the Linux/Ubuntu crowd, if this keeps up. $200-250 for even old Win XP is ridiculous, imo. Hell, I HAVE a copy of XP already, I just can't get it off my damned laptop! :rolleyes:

~Semi

To start, OEM copys (disk only, comes in plastic case w/ graphic, thats it) can be found for $110 for home premium 64 or 32bit. That's all you really need. XP 32bit home is still out at the same price its been for years: $99.

2nd, I believe the whole cheap-student-copy thing is opt-in and its entirely dependant on the adminstration of the institution.

You can get an OEM version of Vista or XP for $89-120 at online vendors such as Newegg or ZipZoomFly. OEM is full version, not upgrade. So you don't have to own a previious version of Windows to use it, but OEM licenses are "tied" to the hardware you originally install it on.