Streaming services build noob questions

Motley

2[H]4U
Hello everyone. I'm a complete noob to streaming solutions, so forgive my ignorance. I am very skilled with building PC's gaming, etc. with only a little linux knowledge, but can do basics.

I've been doing some researching on streaming movies and my collection of audio cd's. Watched some youtube videos on FreeNas. I'm planning on building a PC that can run as a media server.

AMD Ryzen 3 2200GB, 8GB DDR4, Gigabyte GA-AB350-Gaming AM4, Asus CD/blu-ray player read only, 4TB Seagate Barracuda HD, and a cheap HDMI video card.

I have the 2017 Sony XBR-X55850D TV. Receiver is an 7.1 Yamaha RX-A660
Home network is a Ubiquiti USG, Netgear Nighhawk X6 R8000 5GH wireless router.

Once I get the NAS server built, how do I watch the movies and listen to CDs on my TV?

What is the best quality I can get when i rip the blu-rays and CDs?

Is the system I have plan to build sufficient?

What other advice you can provide I will greatly appreciate it!

I'm confused by your post: what state is your media library in: do you already have movies and CDs ripped, or are you asking how to do that too?

Also, are you just planning on playing back downloaded Juarez content, or just your own legal library? The latter is a lot easier to get working, as you can do test encodes of movies to verify they playback on your TV.

Your planned media server system is more than capable of streaming playback. For figuring out your expected storge needs, normal Bluray movies under HEVC quality 19 average about 5GB for HEVC 1080p (800 movies on 4TB). You can get storage down to around 2.5GB average if you compromise and go 720p. (1600 movies). Unless you insist on FLAC, your music library will use a tiny fraction of the space used by video.

Also, your 2200G comes with onboard video, so you can save some money usng that. Your wifi should be plenty for streaming 1080p video.

Last edited: