Starwind VSA HA

danswartz

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Messages
3,652
So for a couple of weeks now, my home lab has been running a completely HA iSCSI datastore on two ESXi 6.7 hosts. Each one has a starwind VSA on local SSD. The actual files where the datastore resides are a pair of 1TB NVME drives (one on each host.) Each ESXi host sees two paths, one to each target. I have done multiple tests involving killing a VSA on one host, or outright power-cycling a ESXi host, and everything keeps humming along. The replication link between the two hosts is a pair of 50gb melllanox cards, and I'm getting damn good performance. Since this is for home lab use, I got an NFR license. I had a few glitches getting going, but the starwind folks on their forum have been extremely responsive and helpful.
 

Schmeisser

n00b
Joined
Jan 18, 2016
Messages
35
Why did you ended up choosing StarWind?
I am building a homelab and deciding what software-defined storage choose for 2-3 hosts.
 

FLECOM

Modder(ator) & [H]ardest Folder Evar
Staff member
Joined
Jun 27, 2001
Messages
15,696
I have a pair of starwind nodes running on hyper-v core, also nfr, works great
 

danswartz

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 25, 2011
Messages
3,652
Why did you ended up choosing StarWind?
I am building a homelab and deciding what software-defined storage choose for 2-3 hosts.
This was the only plug&play HA solution I could find (especially for two nodes). Everything else either works best with many more nodes than 2, or requires some kind of home-brew setup...
 

westrock2000

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
9,201
I tried to use Starwind to share an optical drive over the network. I was sooooo lost with all the terms and containers of containers. Did not pursue any further.
 

SolarBeam

n00b
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
36
Top