Some Cisco Questions

jeffmoss26

2[H]4U
Hello All-
I am a Cisco CCNA student, and I recently got some Cisco 2501 routers from my school to practice with. I am in high school and the course I am in goes very slowly, and I want to become more advanced and learn at a faster pace. What I am looking for are some good guides to basic configuration and setup with the routers. I know how to login to the router from HyperTerminal and do sh ver, sh int, sh run, etc., but I want to know how to configure interfaces and stuff like that. I looked on my CCNA online material and the stuff I found did not work right when I tried it. Any suggestions for basic router commands?

Cisco should have a load of commands if you just search their website. But you can always do "?" at the router prompt and it'll give you a list of commands available for whatever mode you're in.

and here's a quick run through of some basic commands

enable> turns on privileged exec mode
config terminal> puts you into global configuration mode
interface (serial or fast ethernet) (0 or 1 for port)> lets you enter into configuration mode for a particular interface
line (console or vty)>lets you access configuration mode for your virtual terminal lines or your console port
ip address (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx) (subnet mask)> lets you enter in IP addresses and subnet masks
no shutdown> turns on an interface, interfaces are by default administratively down

there's some basics to get you going for a while, play around, see what you can accomplish.