Software to password protect folders

sram

[H]ard|Gawd
Hello. I'm an admin for a small network at work. Some people want to lock their folders so that only them can access them. They can see them, but not enter inside.

I know they are various methods this is done and one of the easiest is just putting things in a RAR file and putting a password on it. I also tried some software that locks folders but I didn't like how they work.

What I want is simply something that will make some folders I specify accessible only by entering a password-as simple as that.ie: you double click the folder, and you will be prompted to enter a password. So, only those who have the password can enter.

Please tell me of a program that can do this or something very similar to it.

Many thanks,

sram

Why not just use NTFS permissions?

Can you please tell me how exactly? The network is a workgroup, can one peer create a folder and limit access to it?

I don't exactly know how that's done, and I'll be grateful if you can show me how.

Thanks.

Can you please tell me how exactly? The network is a workgroup, can one peer create a folder and limit access to it?

I don't exactly know how that's done, and I'll be grateful if you can show me how.

Thanks.

To make it more clear:

All peers in the workgroup network access a huge shared drive connected to the main machine(if you wanna call it that just because it has the storage). This drive is shared of course and people can read and write from/to it. In this case, are permissions made when sharing the drive in the machine having the drive? Or can a peer later create a folder in the shared drive and limit the access to it? And how? I don't see how a peer can prevent another peer from accessing a certain folder in a shared drive from a third peer using NTFS permissions. They are all peers you know.

NTFS permissions is one of the things I haven't ever used really in windows...