So my friend and I are trying to play Starcraft online together...

But here's the thing: we are both on different computers in the same house, and are sharing a router. Now correct me if I'm wrong, but because we share a router our computers have the same IP address, correct? Well, my friend thinks that is the problem--our computers have the same adresses.

If it helps whenever he tries to host a game online, I can't join it. And when I host the game and he joins it, it shows he has lag and he's never able to load the map. Basically we can't play online.

So what I'm asking is is that the problem? And if so, will changing the IP on one computer fix the problem? It seems as though the two will always have to share an IP but I'm no expert on networking.

I tried doing this a while back, I remember reading about it and it turns out Starcraft something along the lines that B.net can't handle the host and a player using the same IP address.

You can try to get additional IP addresses from your ISP or just play a LAN game.

Warcraft 3 would work in this situation I believe.

Does starcraft use directplay? If so, something called DXPort might help you out.

I assume its more than just the two of you playing.

Another option is GIT, sends IPX packets over the net, skip battle.net all together.

Alright, I downloaded GIT, but still suffer from the same problems (perhaps except for the fact that when I host on the computer I use we're actually able to get into the game.) It's still laggy to the point that we can't play. Different from last time is that we can just play each other online as opposed to on just a LAN.

If you have any idea what might be causing this, or if you want some information on my configuration or whatever just say the word.

hmm...

ping your bud.
"ping 192.1681.232 -t -l 65500"

Lets see how many drop over a period of a few minutes, an hour, whatever floats your boat. Lets start there.