SLI Problem

Focker

Gawd
Just got doen doing my first complete build and everything seems to be going pretty well, except for trying to install video drivers.

Board: Gigabyte GA-K8N SLI
Video Cards: 2 Gigabyte 6600gt's

When installing the driver, it'll install the first driver for the first card just fine, but when (I assume) it tries to install the driver for the 2nd card the screen goes black and I end up having to reset the pc. So in device manager it's showing one 6600gt, and the other as generic vga compatible etc.

Anyone else ran into this problem? Should I disable the SLI on the board and then install the drivers and then re-enable SLI? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I would say install one card and the drivers, then put the other card in and enable sli in the driver applet. However, I have no experience doing this and I could be full of shit.

During the driver install it does go black for a second or two, it is normal, I hope you are not reseting at this time.

No, it stays black. I have driver installed for both now but one is disabled in the device manager and when I enable it screen goes black...

I would test each card on its own in single card mode to ensure that you don't have a bad card on your hands.

99% sure it's not a installation or hardware problem, I'm guessing it's a bios problem of some sort. Found another person who had the problem come up after he had it working correctly.

Alrighty, I've got a nifty little problem on my hands... When I start the computer, everything runs fine (BIOS is stable, all drives spin, power is fine) until I get to a screen where I should be able to select between Windows 2000 and Windows XP (since I like both). This is, as you may have guessed, before it boots into Windows (of either kind). However, as of last night, I no longer get this screen, and instead, all I get is a nice black, well, screen, for lack of a better term. So here's my rig to date: (all stock settings)
Link Depot 550w PSU