Simple instructions for freezing a Skylake Processor

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by Eldata, Jan 7, 2016.

  1. Eldata

    Eldata Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    https://communities.intel.com/thread/96157?start=0&tstart=0

    orlich Jan 6, 2016 2:33 PM (in response to Henk_NL)

    Hello All,

    Intel has identified an issue that potentially affects the 6th Gen Intel® Core™ family of products. This issue only occurs under certain complex workload conditions, like those that may be encountered when running applications like Prime95. In those cases, the processor may hang or cause unpredictable system behavior. Intel has identified and released a fix and is working with external business partners to get the fix deployed through BIOS.
     
  2. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    18,830
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Here are the goods for reproducing the issue...

     
  3. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,475
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I will try this later on my i7 Skylake laptop.
     
  4. a3venom

    a3venom Gawd

    Messages:
    695
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Imagine this bios blocks OCing on all Non-K chips
     
  5. Eldata

    Eldata Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    366
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Why? It may take hours. Intel has already reproduced the error and created a fix.
     
  6. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    18,830
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    It may take hours, or it could crash in two minutes and people can be like...

    [​IMG]

    Also I think this further validates Prime95's place as a good stability test, it can crash the chips at stock speeds :eek:
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2016
  7. ///M3

    ///M3 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    323
    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Yet another issue with Skylake. Product shortages, SGX disabled, bending chips and now this. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Jeep333

    Jeep333 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    87
    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    It appears hyperthreading needed to be enabled to cause the error, so those with i5 are safe.
     
  9. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,475
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I suspect the fix will be weeks to months away (if it requires a new BIOS) so I want to see if I can reproduce it.
     
  10. Warsloth

    Warsloth Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    I've got other issues with my XPS 15 9550 (Skylake i7) freezing at times even after a fresh Win10 install. At first, I thought that this could have been a contributing factor, but it normally happens under heavy/long wifi downloads or video streaming. I think mine is just a Dell/driver issue, but will be on the lookout for an updated BIOS in any case.