Silver and Blue ULTRA Dragon

Lawdog

Limp Gawd
:)

Howdy everybody. Here's the start of a rig I doing for a friend. She picked the colors, but the rest is up to me. I'm starting with a case I really like, a silver ULTRA Dragon mid tower. It is very roomy, looks good and it's built well.

This is my first build and definitely my first attempt at modding, so the pre-modded window is necessary. ;) With any luck, it will turn into something pretty sweet by the time I'm done.

For starters, I am going to do the interior in anodized blue, using Dupli-Color Metalcast. It is a two-stage process.

Here's the case to start with:

case side.jpg

Another view:

IMG_0641.JPG

Here is the PSU before and after (my first sleeving attempt). :D I will not be using the SATA power supplies, so I will not sleeve them. They will be hidden.

Before:

PSU mess.JPG

After:

PSU sleeved.JPG

Got the painting started tonight. I'm using Plasti-Kote white sandable metal primer. Here's a couple pics. I suppose some wet-sanding is in my future now. Back with some updates soon, I hope!

primered.JPG

bays and primer.JPG

I am in the process of doing a Dragon myself. Keep this updated with pics so we can all see the progress. Good job so far it should look great with the colors that were chosen.

Howdy DooLocsta, thanks for checking out my little project here. As this is my first attempt at this, this is of course my first worklog too, so if anyone has any comments on this, by all means jump in. I hope to complete this by the end of the weekend, but we'll see how it goes. I'm tripping over parts and boxes in my office, so I'm well motivated!