*Sigh* Just cant get no satisfaction

so_cal_forever

[H]ard|Gawd
Well, I've had the X-530s for about 2 months now, and I feel starved. So, I've been considering maybe getting a different set by May. I'm looking at the Z5300e's right now, and damn they're making me drool. However, I'm new to the arena of audiophilia, so my question is this: What's my best bet for 5.1 in the $150 range? Only reason I demand 5.1 is for games and DVDs, otherwise I would gladly go 2.1.

I hate to say it, but you'll be hard pressed to find a 5.1 set in that price range that you won't be strongly wanting to upgrade a year from now, since it seems your obviously wanting for sound quality, but are compromising to get surround for gaming on a budget.

I would say, to just keep what you got, and save up for what you really want. Since after all, if you do compromise, you'll just end up at that same desire to upgrade sooner than you would like....I know, I've done it, most of us have.

At least speakers are cheaper than bicycle wheels....now it looks like I have to save up for that $600 wheelset (made for 200lb+ riders) I should have bought four months back instead of the $300 "it'll do" wheels (these crappy things keep warping...) :(

About the only others in the realm of 5.1 are Klipsch and Creative. Creatives dont seem good unless you can afford the Gigaworks (cant...) and the only thing Klipsch in my price range is the GMXD-5.1s, which arent really available anymore (sometimes in super refurb deals though...).

So is it safe to assume we will see another one of these threads when the bloom wears off of the next mediocre 5.1 system you buy? :p

Mister X said:
So is it safe to assume we will see another one of these threads when the bloom wears off of the next mediocre 5.1 system you buy? :p

Only when I reach audio nirvana, my friend. Hell, I'd lay down $375 for the Klipsch Promedia 5.1s easy if I had the denero. I feel like a heroin addict. :D

so_cal_forever said: