SFF options for a developer

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by Spun Ducky, Jan 20, 2019.

1. Spun Ducky

Spun Ducky Gawd

I am a developer that mainly works in C/C++/GoLang/Python/x86 Assembly. I more recently have gotten involved in a Java based android application. Android studio absolutely chugs on my thinkpad T440s and my power bill cries from my dual socket workstation. I want to get a power efficient but still powerful enough SFF system.

I am currently looking at some of the bean canyon nucs, Asrock Deskmini 310w with 8700, or ideas on roll your own comparable systems. So if there is any case or prebuilts I am overlooking please let me know.

2. Boil

Boil [H]ard|Gawd

Does it have to be Intel...?

ASRock has the Deskmini A300 barebones coming out in less than a month...

It will fit a Ryzen APU, up to 32GB RAM (two SO-DIMMs), two M.2 NVMe SSDs, & two 2.5" HDD/SSDs...

All in a 6" x 6" x 3" chassis, 1.9 liters (not including the external 120W power brick)...

The barebones is 120 bucks; add a Ryzen 5 2400G APU, 16GB of DDR4-2933 RAM, & 250GB M.2 NVMe SSD; you are looking at about 550 bucks shipped from Newegg...

3. Spun Ducky

Spun Ducky Gawd

I have no opposition to AMD. I will have to look into the release date on that AMD deskmini a bit more. Thank you

4. Neapolitan6th

Neapolitan6th Gawd

I agree with Boil. If cost and size matters, its a really good option. Here's a link to some more information.
    ASRock-3.jpg
    ASRock-1.jpg
    That said if you need the best CPU performance, a 2400G would be outclassed by a similar or better Intel CPU (clockspeed and higher core counts)

The 2400G would have superior graphics performance on the other hand if you we're trying to avoid a sperate GPU.

You should also check Intel's Nucs which feature AMD graphics. Those are about the best all around if money is not an object.

5. XcPNehVYlE4A3C

XcPNehVYlE4A3C Limp Gawd