Server Managment Question

thedocta45

[H]ard|Gawd
So I am currently setting up what amounts to a back up and file server in an office, because of the dual nature of the office part of the office is tax exempt, and the other part is not.
So some of the computers are managed by another IT department that I would rather not deal with at this point in time. I'm quite new to the whole server management thing put would like to make a good impression on my superiors.
What is a good browser based interface I can use to allow the three users that are on a separate network access to the server for back up and file serving purposes? Its on a different subnet.
Any other solutions would be great, hardware wise and software wise.
I am currently looking into an ASP.net solution.
So if anyone could point me in the "right" direction that would be great, and yes I am currently Googling solutions, so some feedback would be amazing.

Thanks in advance.

How about some details? What server operating system is on this "back up and file server"? How is the network configured? Like a quick topology would help for suggestions.

Yeah sorry like I said I'm new to this all so didn't think about what I needed to include.

The server is running Win Server 2008 R2 Foundation, the client computers are all Win XP Pro SP3 machines.
As far as the network set up goes the computers are all on a router that goes out to the internet.
As far as connecting goes the users log in as member's of the network1.local domain.
The computer's that are an issue are part of network2.local, those users are required to log in once through what appears to be a tunneling log in interface, and then from there into windows.

At this point I am considering just hosting the server out as a web server and have the three users connect to it via the internet, using Sharepoint or some ASP.net written application to deal with the file management side of things.