securing a PBX

alphabanks

n00b
I would like to discuss securing PBX servers I'm mainly speaking from the network side of things. For example, do you guys simply forward sip back to your pbx or do you use some sort of proxy? I would assume that you all create firewall rules that only allow specific ip addresses to connect. Anyway I'm new to all of this so I'm trying to figure out the best way to protect a PBX server.

It depends on specifically what you are needing to expose to both the internal LAN as well as the internet.
1) Will you be having remote extensions connecting over the public internet?
2) Are you utilizing VOIP trunks to the public PSTN?
3) Access to voicemail website from the public internet?
4) Any other services the PBX will be providing?

Basically right now I have a few test DID's from Anveo, Callcentric, and IPKALL. I have configured a few extensions in my test lab. However, I would like to play around with having remote extensions and accessing voice mail. Right now I will be using some Android phones for testing the remote extensions.

Make sure there is no way to get an outside line from the outside. Ex: if I call to the IVR I should not be able to hit a combination to get a line then be able to dial out.

Hackers use this to make free overseas calls. $$$$$$$$

i have absolutely 0 FW rules for any of my PBXs...

any communications out to ITSPs is internally initiated...

remote extensions, we use yealinks and one of the beautiful things about them is that they have openvpn clients, i configure openvpn client for it and it connects securely via vpn and then SIP...

^ That's the way to do it for permanent deskphones. No Games.

Otherwise Fail2Ban is an absolute must.

If you use asterisk/freepbx you really should consider incrediblepbx. It requires no open firewall rules for anything. If you use remote (not local/routable lan) clients you handle it via vpn built into the device or the router the client is behind.