Second Scythe fan controller to die on me.

Just received my RMA a while back. Channel one no longer works, and channel two intermittently fails, producing a loud high-pitched whine to let me know. :(

What other controllers should I look at?

I've been using a sunbeam one for about 3 years, and it's been pretty good.

I'm only using low speed yates, with two on each channel. Scythe says the controller can handle 1 Amp per channel, so I should be able to use three fans per channel, but it crumbles with just one or two.

Even as I type this now, it has screeched at least four times to tell me that the second channel has stopped functioning. The first channel still does not work.

I paid ~$40 for this thing, plus an additional ~$10 to send it in for an RMA, and I still don't have a working unit. :mad:

edit: it screeched again as I hit submit.

I'm only using low speed yates, with two on each channel. Scythe says the controller can handle 1 Amp per channel, so I should be able to use three fans per channel, but it crumbles with just one or two.

Even as I type this now, it has screeched at least four times to tell me that the second channel has stopped functioning. The first channel still does not work.

I paid ~$40 for this thing, plus an additional ~$10 to send it in for an RMA, and I still don't have a working unit. :mad:

edit: it screeched again as I hit submit.

The MOSFETs overheat if you actually try to get 1A out of them. I had to add a heatsink to the MOSFET dishing only half that to stabilise it.

Lol, I blew one up while trying to run 3 per channel. I forgot to disable the rpm wire for all but one fan per channel. I'm running 3 low speed Yates per channel now without problems. Now I just gotta repair the bad mosfets on the original unit.

The MOSFETs overheat if you actually try to get 1A out of them. I had to add a heatsink to the MOSFET dishing only half that to stabilise it.

Why the hell would they rate it at 1A if it can't handle the load? What a POS.